Building a new computer would like some advice

Altrus

Coastermaker
Hey, i'm building a new computer. which I've never done before.
I've been looking through parts for about a week or two now and reading alot of reviews about different hardware and want to know if the parts I picked out are good.
I'm building this comp completely for gaming.
I'm also kinda interested in overclocking even tho I don't know much about it.
this is what I've picked out so far.

Evga Nvidia 780i
Geforce 8800 GT 512Mb
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz
mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS 1TB
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3160815AS 160GB
Antec Twelve Hundred Case
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 64-bit
ZALMAN CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler

((all the parts are from newegg))

I already have a Rosewell 600watt powersupply in my old computer but don't know if this will be enough

((My currest graphics card is a 8800 GTS 320mb))

I'd like any advice on the parts I chose, if I left anything out, if I messed anything up, etc.

~Thanks

Last edited:

Merlin

The Tech Wizard
Looks good so far......
The EVGA 780i is a great board for overclocking.
The Q6600 is a quad core @ 2.4 GHz, you may do better by price and clock speeds by getting an E8400 @ 3.0 GHz with 12 mb cache ( a better CPU )....unless you run programs specific to having a quad core CPU.
That would bring the price down and have a better machine.
Also the 8800Gt is an excellent GPU ( I play Crysis on high with just one card ( evga 8800GT OC ))
Unless you have a huge monitor, ( 30" or larger ) you wont need to run SLI.
Yeah, It does look cool to have the two cards in there with lights all over the place.
But realistically.....you usuallly dont need two cards.
I use a 20" monitor and the other one is 24", I run one 8800GT in each one with great results and overclocking.