Sinking 773 Hours Into a Nintendo DS Game? It's Been Done

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
Having been an MMO game player for a number of years, registering 1,000 hours to a single title in a year isn't exactly a foreign thought to me. In fact, I've been playing my primary MMO since 2002, Asheron's Call, and I'm sure my total accrued playtime is at least four times that. Ugh, that's a little rough to think about... let's carry on.

dragon_quest_ix_071511.jpg

Read the rest of our post and then discuss it here!

marfig

No ROM battery
That's indeed quite a feat. But a bit worrying too. 773 hours would be the equivalent of 32 days of non-stop playing. That level of commitment to a game in the course of a single year is remarkable. But not healthy. And... I can attest for that.

A (very) special breed of online games are the ones I've spent most time playing in my life; MUDs, back when. But for single-player games, these are the champions on hours played, correctly ordered I would think:

Civilization series (if you consider the series as one game)
Doom (still play the occasional DM with friends to this day)
X-Com, Enemy Unknown (still play it sometimes to this day)
Master of Orion (this game pretty much consumed me for nearly 2 years)

These are for sure games where I have spent more than a few hundreds of hours. The Civilization series in particular must amount to thousands of hours. Of those, I think Civilization III was the one where I spent most time.

Incidentally, this brings us to a topic I would like one day have the opportunity to discuss. No modern game (in the last 10 years or so) ever captivated me so much as games from the late 80s and 90s. Maybe because I'm older and have a different mindset for games (which I'm sure is true). But I think also because there nothing to be hooked to. Maybe Nintendo is doing to games today what the PC used to, but not anymore.

Optix

Basket Chassis
Staff member