My first 5 seconds with Windows Server 2012

RainMotorsports

Partition Master
...Where did i put my Windows NT 4 Server Disk at... MUST DOWNGRADE

Seriously. So they removed the start menu, put in metro and proceeded to make everything desktop based. So uh I now have to change my work flow in order to launch desktop applications from an interface meant for something entirely different.

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
I couldn't believe it when I first learned that the server product would ALSO use the same Start screen as the consumer variant... it just leaves me in awe. It's as if Microsoft simply doesn't WANT the IT departments around the globe to adopt its latest OS.

Optix

Basket Chassis
Staff member
Sadly I'm studying for the first MCSA exam for 2012 because the certification for 2008 is going by the wayside come June. I'm already shuddering at the thought of having to deal with a Windows 8-like interface.

marfig

No ROM battery
Windows Server 2008 R2 will have extended support until 2020. Even if Microsoft doesn't back down from this complete nonsense on the next version, that's plenty of time for your company to start a migration process to Linux servers... or Linux server software running on a windows server (since we must assume that before 2020 Microsoft will start introducing newer versions of server software that will magically not be compatible with 2008 R2).

Some solutions:

Jerry-Rigged Windows Servers

If your company is a small to mid size business, you can implement an excellent server model, based on Windows 7 Ultimate (or even Professional) with Linux Samba for your domain controller and Linux everything else for everything else (file management, email, etc). This in fact is an excellent option for a slow and comfortable migration to a full Linux-based servers model in the future serving Windows machines.