...wherefore art thou Linux?

BlindMonk

E.M.I.
So I'm debating in the middle of these here distros. Having not spent even ten minutes with any of Linux's many faces I know something like Mandriva, OpenSUSE, or even Ubuntu would do better in easing me into the operation of the new OS. I can't ignore, however, the incredible allure/challenge of what I understand to be infinitely configurable offerings such as Arch, Gentoo, and Slackware. In your estimation could a severe Linux newblood even manage it? There's certainly enough documentation and community out there to get me through, I would think, but I suppose I always risk getting frustrated or overwhelmed.

My background is 90% Windows / 5% DOS / 5% OSX

Haven't decided whether this will be a dual-boot or separate rig install.

Greg King

I just kinda show up...
Staff member
Rob is certainly going to be the one to offer any help in this thread. He has recommended Sabyon to me many times and it might be something to think about.

Like you, I have virtually no experience with the OS at all. I have however, installed Red Hat 8 once, maybe twice but uninstalled it shortly after installation. No real reason. I just knew that I was never going to do anything with it. Now that I am interested again, i am going to give Sabyon a go.

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
That is the oldest Sabayon review around, there is a newer one:

http://techgage.com/article/sabayonlinux_33/

I do recommend Sabayon for newbies to Linux, simply because it takes care of almost everything for you, like video/audio/3d/internet/bluetooth/etc. As much as I love the distro, it's still far too bloated for me, but that's something that a lot of people enjoy. It also helps that Sabayon installs Beryl for you as well, which adds to the experience.