Water cooling help

DarkStarr

Tech Monkey
I am looking for a watercooling setup that will cool my 955 BE better (shouldnt be too hard). It needs to be around $100, doesnt need to be a kit but I am a noob when it comes to water cooling which is why I am asking for help.

Kougar

Techgage Staff
Staff member
What CPU cooler are you currently using?

As I've had to answer quite a few questions similar to your own as of late, I am confident in saying you will not find a watercooling setup for <$200 that would outperform the Noctua NH-14, which costs under $100. ;)

DarkStarr

Tech Monkey
Its just an old coolermaster one that keeps temps a bit lower than the stock heatsink on load, about 10C less or so. Also I can get a Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. B CPU Cooler for $71.96 shipped vs the NH-D14 for $92.98 from newegg and temps seem only about 1C lower on the noctua.

The Mega would be from sidewindercomputers.com which I have never used, anyone know if they are good?

b1lk1

Tech Monkey
What CPU cooler are you currently using?

As I've had to answer quite a few questions similar to your own as of late, I am confident in saying you will not find a watercooling setup for <$200 that would outperform the Noctua NH-14, which costs under $100. ;)

May not outperform the HN-14, but the NH-14 is as big as a bus.

I'd look for a Corsair H50 or CoolIT ECO system. I've used both with excellent results. THey are very competetively priced at under $100. The Thermaltake FRIO also astounded me, if those last 2-3C of cooling power are no concern it works well and will fit any ATX case/motherboard unlike those oversized beasts.

You won't find a build it yourself kit for under $150 that is worth the dough.

DarkStarr

Tech Monkey
Size doesn't bother me, for me its the price vs performance and since I am finding the Mega for the lowest price so far I may go with that.