Resurrecting Mediaeval

marfig

No ROM battery
Hello everyone,

Sometime around late last year, I started to think seriously in my entry into game development as a side-business to my main activity as software developer. In July this year, when it became evident I required another source of income, I've pretty much decided for it. Ever since I've been developing a business plan for the next 2 years that include the release in September to October of an old project (and an old dream) I'm resurrecting from the ashes.

This game is called Mediaeval and it's a grand strategy PBeM (play by email) game meant to be played by up to 150 players at the same time. It's a client-server software, with players downloading the Windows -- and soon after to be ported, Linux -- client which they can use to oversee their country or empire, plan with other players, issue orders and receive back reports from the server after these orders are processed.

The project as it was in 2007 can be seen here: http://cboard.cprogramming.com/game-programming/93290-mediaeval-play-email-beta.html

I'm moving into to newer technologies and programming language (DirectX, C# and WPF) for the creation of a game-like interface that is more modern and pleasant to the eye. Players will have to subscribe and pay an yearly fee to play the game. The server can hold multiple games. Each game can last for years of real time. It is in my best interest to gather players and build a community. So for the first year after release the game will be free to anyone. After that the game will always remain free to the TG community for members with more than 20 forum posts. This isn't meant as a real source of income.

In January or February, after I'm trough the alpha stage, I'll start a Developer Diary blog that will document the game development.