My first time building a high end gaming PC.

Demure

Obliviot
Hey guys,

I just wanted to say hello and that I found this website to be very helpful and wanted to know if you could give me some tips on building my first gaming PC. I have helped others build PC's before so I won't be a total noob but I was hoping you guys could help me choose the hardware I should buy. I have $1,500 to spend on this project and any direction would be great! I haven't really been keeping tabs on the latest and best hardware to buy.

P.S. You can factor out the monitor because I already have one.

Thank's,
Demure

Last edited:

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
First off, welcome to the forums!

$1,500 is a great price-point. The first thing I need to ask is... can you wait until the end of the month before jumping into a build? The reason is because Intel's new Quad-Core processors should be out by the end of the month and improve on current-gen processors all around.

My other question is.. what resolution do you plan to play games at, and how powerful do you want the machine to be? Do you want to have a GPU powerhouse and sacrifice some parts, or have it as well-rounded as possible?

Demure

Obliviot
First off, welcome to the forums!

$1,500 is a great price-point. The first thing I need to ask is... can you wait until the end of the month before jumping into a build? The reason is because Intel's new Quad-Core processors should be out by the end of the month and improve on current-gen processors all around.

My other question is.. what resolution do you plan to play games at, and how powerful do you want the machine to be? Do you want to have a GPU powerhouse and sacrifice some parts, or have it as well-rounded as possible?