MS Excel Spreadsheet help needed.

moon111

Coastermaker
I have never used Excel before, and ran out of time today before I had a chance to figure it out. I have a seperate spreadsheet for each month. I want the data from the monthly totals to go directly in a year-end summary. I didn't even get a chance to copy the formula then try Paste Special? Will that link the monthly totals with the year-end?

NicePants42

Partition Master
If you mean that you have multiple 'worksheets' (many tabs in one file), then all you need to do is go to your year-end tab and set a cell equal to the value of the monthly total for month x, example formula in the year end summary: (=Sheet1'!$C$20.) Repeat for each month so that you have a series (of 12?) cells in the yearly total sheet that each return totals from each month sheet.

Alternatively, you can also use separate Excel files for each month, and then use a separate file for the yearly totals. You'd set this up much the same way, but instead of referencing totals from other sheets in the same file, you'd need to reference cells in another file.

What I would suggest is that you create a single Excel file designed for any given month. Use this as a template, so that when you start a new month, you just 'save as' the template as 'June 2007' or something, and that way you won't have to deal with tons of tabs in one huge file over time.

Then, you have a yearly total template where the monthly totals are easily referenced by setting a formula to (='[June 2007.xls]Sheet1'!$C$20) or whatever the total cell is (C20). Alternatively, in the monthly template file, you can name the total by going to insert->name->define, and then you select the total cell, name it 'total' or something. Then your formula in the yearly summary is (='[June 2007.xls]total). Using names can make it easier to modify complex formulas that reference crazy crap that you don't want to keep track of.