Benchmarking the Latest Hardware is Fun, Unless...

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
From our front-page news:
Do you think that benchmarking the latest hardware and writing about it is some sort of paradise? I admit, what I do for a living is fun, or else I wouldn't be doing it. But, there are occasions when things don't work out as planned, and the frustration levels go dangerously high. I think all of what I've dealt with over the past few days is rather crazy, so I decided to post about it.

With Intel's Lynnfield right around the corner, time is currently tight. Because of all the things that kept me from getting things done this month, we were behind on getting our AMD Phenom X4 965 Black Edition review posted. Since I received that CPU long before Lynnfield, the sensible thing to do was to shift its priority to a high level in order to get something posted prior to Intel's embargoed content.

That's fine though, right? After all, it's just a speed-bump. Pop it in, benchmark and post the review. Ahh, if only it were that simple! I tend to have a knack for things going wrong, and to spice things up, if one thing goes wrong, something else usually goes wrong right afterwards. The week began out with me building up our AMD test machine this past Sunday night. The first problem? I couldn't find the same RAM kit we have used in the past. RAM is tricky... it's thin, and can hide pretty much anywhere.

So with that being a bust, and our testing motherboard (Gigabyte MA790GP-DS4H) refusing other DDR2 memory I had, I ended up moving to a newer AM3 DDR3 board to get the testing done, even though that's hardly an ideal route to take. After setting that machine up, the problems didn't end. Performance wasn't really up to snuff, and even at this point I'm unsure why. Late Monday night though, I stumbled on the RAM for the previous board (last time I set a stack of magazines on a kit of RAM), so I decided to move back to the MA790GP-DS4H.

high_temps_090209.png