Max Payne 3 Review

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
After a long hiatus, the infamous Max Payne is finally back. But before you think he's been living the good-life since the last time we checked in, think again. Beaten down and lacking any feeling of self-worth, we continue the Payne saga by getting an honest job protecting a wealthy family. What could possibly go wrong?

Read through our look at Max Payne 3 and then discuss it here!

Relayer

E.M.I.
Something I noticed while looking at the screenies on pg 3 was how poorly the texture mapping was done on some models. In the first screenshot the model in the upper right that looks like a bunch of pyramids stuck together there's stretching and misalignment of the textures. On the last screenshot the tile textures where the wall meets the window sill are also poorly mapped.

I only point it out because I do modeling, and even though I'm just a hobbyist, I would never leave textures looking like that.

Brett Thomas

Senior Editor
An interesting catch, Relayer...and quite accurate. I will say that your point of being a hobbyist might be WHY you wouldn't let that happen - a professional has to get a "good" job done in a short time, where a hobbyist can do a GREAT job because they don't have a time limit and it's something they're passionate about. But that being said, it brings up a very good point that Rob and I were discussing just the other day about graphical advancement and where things really have not moved 'forward' all that well. I really think people-modeling in particular has stagnated. :(

Tharic-Nar

Senior Editor
Staff member