Looking to get a 1TB SATA drive but need advice

MAAD

Obliviot
Ok, first off, I'm not a tech expert so please bear with me.

I have an older machine that still works great but I'd like to upgrade my drive. I currently have a machine with an ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe MB with 2 120GB ATA133 drives. I'm looking at replacing one with a 1TB SATA drive (since the MB can run SATA) but I noticed that the MB specs say "SATA 1.5 Gb/s". Is there any way to achieve the 3.0Gb/s that the drive is capable of with this motherboard? Can I get a SATA card that can make the machine capable of hitting 3.0Gb/s? Or should I just buy a new machine altogether?

Thanks,
MAAD

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
Welcome to the forums :)

S-ATA 3Gb/s is backwards-compatible with 1.5Gb/s, so any drive you plug in is going to work. Some drives require a small switch on the drive itself to be toggled in order to enable 1.5Gb/s, so you might just want to look out for that. As for 3.0Gb/s... I wouldn't worry about getting a separate card just to enable that operation. It will make no difference whatsoever in the the real-world. 1.5Gb/s equals 150MB/s, and even the fastest hard drives on the market right now don't exceed 110MB/s read (the fastest SSD's are around 250MB/s read). Most 1TB drives are under 100MB/s, so you have little to worry about.

Krazy K

Partition Master
Rob said it well. You will never get close to the capability of S-ATA throughput. As for which brand...they're all the same to most extent. Some have longer warranties and some are louder. I don't think Rob will mind if I make a plug for Tech Report, but head over there and find one that has speeds and power and noise levels that interest you. Keep an eye out for rebates too.

Merlin

The Tech Wizard