Intel Makes Core i7 Official, Processors Ready for Purchase

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
From our front-page news:
It's been a long wait, but today marks the official launch of Intel's latest processor lineup, Core i7. Although the origin of the name itself is still a mystery, the performance that the new models offer is not, as seen in the preview article we posted a few weeks ago. We still plan to follow-up to that article, but are awaiting a few more motherboards to test with, so we can get the full story.

Although today marks the launch of the new processors, some e-tailers began selling the new models over the weekend, such as NewEgg and Mwave. Those two actually happen to be the only two right now I can find that are currently selling (or have them even listed), but more will undoubtedly pop up during the week.

Of the two e-tailers mentioned above, Mwave undercuts NewEgg's prices by a rather healthy margin, although since I have no experience with them, I can't personally attest to their customer service in order to recommend them for the purchase. At the time of this post, here are the links and prices for all three models at both stores:

• Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz - Mwave ($289.00)
  • Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz - NewEgg ($319.99)
  • Intel Core i7 940 2.93GHz - Mwave ($575.00)
  • Intel Core i7 940 2.93GHz - NewEgg ($599.99)
  • Intel Core i7 Extreme 965 3.20GHz - Mwave ($1,039.00)
  • Intel Core i7 Extreme 965 3.20GHz - NewEgg ($1,069.99)

(Click for 1920x1200 desktop wallpaper.)