have to pay for auto backup?

hi- newbie here:D Just bought a FreeAgent Pro 320 ex hard drive yesterday. After it was set up I noticed that it required a product key :eek: in order for the auto backup to work.......doesn't make sense that one would buy hardware then have to cough up more cash for it to work to it fullest:
Is this normal on this model? I passed over a Comstar external that had one touch backup thinking this brand was more 'with it'.
It tells me on there troubleshooting page that the product key is attached to the quickstart guide, I see nothing of the sort.

Last edited:
hi- newbie here:D Just bought a Free Agent Pro 320 ex hard drive yesterday. After it was set up I noticed that it required a product key :eek: in order for the auto backup to work.......doesn't make sense that one would buy hardware then have to cough up more cash for it to work to it fullest:
Is this normal on this model? I passed over a Comstar external that had one touch backup thinking this brand was more 'with it'.
It tells me on there troubleshooting page that the product key is attached to the quickstart guide, I see nothing of the sort.

Nevermind- too early in the day- the stupid thing is printed on the quickstart- not a tag or something else I was looking for:D Need more coffee.....:rolleyes:

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
Haha. Glad you figured out the problem ;-)

Welcome to the forums, we hope to see you stick around. The FreeAgent is an awesome product... I'd buy one myself if I didn't already have my own backup scheme.

Haha. Glad you figured out the problem ;-)

Welcome to the forums, we hope to see you stick around. The FreeAgent is an awesome product... I'd buy one myself if I didn't already have my own backup scheme.