first timmer clocker

Kronaz

Obliviot
hi i have a question how do i clock my gt7900ko and my 939 what the most safest way im a noob to this cooling is no problem my pc runs at 13cel on idle and 4hrs into bf2142 its at 15cel i apreciat any comments

(aint got spell shek)

Rory Buszka

Partition Master
Well, those temperatures don't look right. You need a way to take reliable temperatures before you can think about overclocking. If your processor was running at about 43 C instead of 13 C, I'd believe your temperature numbers, and then we could get down to business.

Check the hardware monitor in your BIOS and see how hot your processor is really running. If the BIOS also says 13 C, then something is wrong with the way your motherboard takes temperatures, and overclocking would be a substantially riskier business.

Kronaz

Obliviot
yes its right see my pc is watercolled and the radiator is in my frig (im not bsing you guys) so my pc is very cool its at 13c goes no higher then 17 c was at 46 to 53 c

Attachments

• Set10_01.jpg
    Set10_01.jpg
    50.4 KB · Views: 623

Rob Williams

Editor-in-Chief
Staff member
Haha. You ask for the safest way to overclock but put a rad in a fridge! Seriously though, that's cool. (cf)Eclipse on these forums recently did an experiment where he forced all the cool outside air towards his rad... he actually managed to hit negative temps on his CPU.

Regardless, just grab a program like RivaTuner and go to the overclocking tab and raise up the core and memory clocks and keep going until you find something stable. I'd start by raising each 5MHz at a time, until the card either crashes or you see artifacts.

Or.. download nTune and let it overclock the card for you, which may be the easiest way:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/sysutility.html

Kronaz

Obliviot
ok ill try that now is that for my vid or my cpu i want to max out my cpu its a 3200 im getting a duelcore 4600 or 4800 just want to testi it out on this cpu first

Kronaz

Obliviot