First timer GPU aftermarket cooling installation questions

germz

Obliviot
Hey All,

I'm about to install a TT Duorb cooler on my 8800GTS 512 and i have a few questions. I took the card apart and started cleaning off the stock thermal compund off the GPU using Arctic Clean, i'm using a paper coffee filter to get it off and i'm having a hard time getting it out from between the little metal pinhead-looking things that surround the GPU, any special way to do it? Would it ok to use a toothpick or something?

Also, i used a cotton swab and a coffee filter on the GPU itself and i'm still seeing little specs of dust and hairs on it, i read somewhere that they have to go before the heatsink goes on, how do i get rid o them?

Finally, how much thermal compound do i need to apply? Do i apply it to the center of the GPU and the heatsink? Or just the GPU? Do i need to spread it?

If anyone can help please do so, this is my first time doing this and i'm afraid of messing it up. BTW, Arctic Clean 1 is giving me headache after using it for about an hour, i hope this stuff is not really bad for you.

Merlin

The Tech Wizard
You may want to get another opinion, but my first build, I used way too much thermal paste, had it all ove the board and myself, I used an electrical cleaner from an aerosol can, just sprayed it clean...I knew artic 5 had silver and silver is conductive.....so I knew it had to be cleaned.
Just let it dissapate before turning on the computer, it's flamable.
Actually it's a contact cleaner used from when I was an electrician.

But, as I said, get some more opinions......

:techgage::techgage: Merlin :techgage::techgage:

germz

Obliviot
Thanx for your reply. The cleaning solution is not an issue, i'm using Arctic Clean 1 & 2 which is specifically made to clean off thermal compund. I would like someone to answer my questions since i stopped working on the card until i get this info. So please guys help me out here.

Greg King

I just kinda show up...
Staff member