CoD4 Disp Drivers Issues

Krazy K

Partition Master
I just started playing CoD4 online and it seems that everything is working against me. I keep getting the message that says "atikmag.exe has crashed but recovered successfully."

I find that I'm not the only one with this problem, yet no one seems to have found the solution. It seems to be effecting both ati and nvidia cards and xp and vista, but only the x64 version. I have installed fixes and uninstalled updates but I still crash. My monitor sometimes will say "input not supported" or it just flickers and goes black.

I can back down the resolution to 800x600 and it doesn't seem to happen but when I set my 22 Acer to anything higher than 800x600 it's just a matter of time. I have AA and AF off, most things are set to the lowest setting, dual cards is no and dxdiag says I have 10.1 and there are no problems.

It seems that I have traded my hardware problems in for software this time. Anyone know the fix for this or how to get around it or should I just get a new game?

Merlin

The Tech Wizard
I just started playing CoD4 online and it seems that everything is working against me. I keep getting the message that says "atikmag.exe has crashed but recovered successfully."

I find that I'm not the only one with this problem, yet no one seems to have found the solution. It seems to be effecting both ati and nvidia cards and xp and vista, but only the x64 version. I have installed fixes and uninstalled updates but I still crash. My monitor sometimes will say "input not supported" or it just flickers and goes black.

I can back down the resolution to 800x600 and it doesn't seem to happen but when I set my 22 Acer to anything higher than 800x600 it's just a matter of time. I have AA and AF off, most things are set to the lowest setting, dual cards is no and dxdiag says I have 10.1 and there are no problems.