Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2011, 04:53 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default AC Ryan Playon!HD Mini 2 Review

A lot has happened with AC Ryan's Playon! line-up since I took a look at the original mini last fall, with a GUI overhaul being the most noticeable and important change. There are a ton of new Internet features packed in as well, and thanks to the addition of a 1Gbit/s LAN port, your high bitrate content will have more room to breathe.

Read through our full look at AC Ryan's Playon!HD mini 2 and then discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 06:38 AM   #2
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

Great review Rob. Since I have a MCE-PC and if I wanted to setup on in another room I would have to use another PC or a 360, this however looks like it can handle what I want in another room with out a problem or at least the problems I do see can be fixed like you said in the review, either by 3rd party solutions or firmware updates.

I can at last feel confident about seriously considering this box (or future one from AC Ryan) like this for when I need to setup another room, not to mention the price point in the short and long term.
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand


Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 06:39 PM   #3
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Excellent review. Thanks. The most complete I've seen.

Still not my type of device. I prefer the "old fashioned" way of building my own HTPC. But the fact you have a picture of Reservoir Dogs has earned you a review of the month award

EDIT:
I really, really, appreciate the fact you guys take your sweet time testing and using your stuff before producing the final test of the review. One month testing this is the type of care and dedication to your "job" I so much appreciate and won't ever tire of being thankful for. And its much more than I can ever hope of more popular media outlets out there, which, because of that, not always reach the depth of some of you guys reviews.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX

Last edited by marfig; 08-01-2011 at 06:45 PM.
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:18 PM   #4
Optix
Basket Chassis
 
Optix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,679
Default

Your review sucks!

Sorry...I didn't want the praise to go to your head.

Gotta get me one of these puppies or something that will make cable obsolete!
__________________

Intel i5 3570K, MSI Z77Z-GD55, 4x2GB Kingston Genesis 2133mhz, 120GB Mushkin Chronos SSD, 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue, Intel 210 cache drive, MSI 7850 Power Edition OC, Corsair H100, Silverstone Strider 750w Gold, Killer2100 NIC, Corsair 600T SE White, LG W2242, ROCCAT Kone+, Isku & Kave, 3TB Seagate Backup+, 200GB Western Digital Scorpio Black external drive


Optix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:32 PM   #5
toddos
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I currently have a WDTV Live and had a similar issue to what you said about your PC not being discovered. In my case, my wifi router went rogue and elected itself Master Browser on my network. The only problem with that is that "router" is acting as a dumb AP and isn't set up with DNS or other functionality to see SMB shares on my network and as a result I was only able to see that router's file share and nothing else. In my case, I have a linux box on my network (the real router) and could add "os level = 255" and "preferred master = yes" entries to smb.conf in order to make it always win elections. Once the linux box took over as browse master all of my shares showed up on the WDTV correctly.

If you only have Windows machines on your network and no OS X or Linux or other Samba-running machines that allow you to explicitly set os level, you can do some registry hacking and hope your Windows box gets lucky and wins the election. I don't know any other way to force it.
toddos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 12:44 AM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddos View Post
If you only have Windows machines on your network and no OS X or Linux or other Samba-running machines that allow you to explicitly set os level, you can do some registry hacking and hope your Windows box gets lucky and wins the election. I don't know any other way to force it.
Thanks a ton for the tips! I admit I have fiddled in the router quite a bit in month's past, so it could be that -something- is preventing the PC from being discovered on the network. I'll reset it in the coming days and see what happens. The thing that frustrates me though, is that my SAMBA share under Linux was discovered just fine with this media player (and other PCs). It's just my Windows install that refuses to be seen from any PC/device.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 12:52 AM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayden View Post
I can at last feel confident about seriously considering this box (or future one from AC Ryan) like this for when I need to setup another room, not to mention the price point in the short and long term.
The frustrating thing is that this is the best media player out there, but it's near-impossible for Americans or Canadians to acquire. I really hope more retailers on these shores pick up on these things, because they're definitely worthy of attention.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marfig View Post
Still not my type of device. I prefer the "old fashioned" way of building my own HTPC. But the fact you have a picture of Reservoir Dogs has earned you a review of the month award
I am pretty much the same way. I haven't done it yet, but I keep having the idea pop into my head to build an HTPC/server based on Linux that has XBMC as a front-end. This way I can keep HDDs in the PC for local storage and still be able to access my NAS for even more. I could also use it as a backup server and for other things, since nowadays it's very affordable to build a very powerful multi-purpose server - and one that's small at that (I keep looking at this GIGABYTE ITX board on my shelf... tempting the heck out of me).

Quote:
Originally Posted by marfig View Post
Reservoir Dogs
Hah! Whenever I decide to take a shot like that, I go to the shelf and try to pick a film that's going to cause someone to say something. Kudos for making it happen (Classic movie, to be sure, amazing cast).

Quote:
Originally Posted by marfig View Post
I really, really, appreciate the fact you guys take your sweet time testing and using your stuff before producing the final test of the review. One month testing this is the type of care and dedication to your "job" I so much appreciate and won't ever tire of being thankful for. And its much more than I can ever hope of more popular media outlets out there, which, because of that, not always reach the depth of some of you guys reviews.
Whenever we're able to do that, we do, and I couldn't agree with you more. Some companies are a little more impatient than others, but AC Ryan is the saint of all companies in that regard, so I thank them for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optix View Post
Your review sucks!
Can't I have anything?!?!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 02:49 AM   #8
toddos
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Thanks a ton for the tips! I admit I have fiddled in the router quite a bit in month's past, so it could be that -something- is preventing the PC from being discovered on the network. I'll reset it in the coming days and see what happens. The thing that frustrates me though, is that my SAMBA share under Linux was discovered just fine with this media player (and other PCs). It's just my Windows install that refuses to be seen from any PC/device.
I mispoke before -- when my wifi AP went rogue, it picked up itself and my linux Samba shares and that's it, though I assumed that's because the linux box is also the network gateway and so it's the only other PC the wifi AP knew about.

Still, check your network to figure out what server is the browse master for smb sharing and if necessary force the linux box to always win elections.
toddos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC Ryan Prepping UI Update for Playon!HD Models Rob Williams General Hardware 1 12-13-2010 08:06 AM
AC Ryan Playon!HD Media Player Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 11-15-2010 04:08 PM
AC Ryan Playon!HD mini Media Player Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 09-12-2010 11:58 PM
AC Ryan PlayonHD! mini unboxing Rob Williams General Hardware 0 09-10-2010 09:02 PM
[ABT]Catalyst 8.11 vs 8.12 Performance Mini-Review wolf2009 Video Cards and Displays 0 12-20-2008 02:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.