Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2011, 10:20 PM   #1
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default Alice: Madness Returns Review

Chasing small furry animals down alley ways and rabbit holes remains a vice for poor Alice, her mind yearning for an escape from reality. What creatures can she dream up this time? - nothing too pleasant it seems. Join us as we review Alice: Madness Returns on the PC and see what dark depravities Spicy Horse came up with in this sequel.


You can read Jamie's review here and discuss in the forum below.
__________________
PSU: Corsair 1000HX - Case: Thermaltake Xaser VI Full Tower - CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @3.8GHz - Cooler: Thermaltake FRIO - Motherboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth - Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic 1600 - GPU: 2x AMD Radeon HD 5870 - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 6Gb/s +1TB +2TB storage - Audio: ODAC + O2 Amp, ASUS Xonar DX
K/B: Corsair K90 - Mouse: ROCCAT KONE XTD - Monitor: DELL U2410 - Speakers: Corsair SP2500 - Headphones: Beyerdynamic DT990 - Mic: Blue Yeti USB Microphone

- I need Fiber to fix my Irregular Bandwidth Syndrome -
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 10:41 PM   #2
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

Tharic I'm a little confused I thought you couldn't run Phsyx on your machine because you have an ATI video card.

I am glad to read you enjoyed the game as much as you did, even though it was repetitive but at least something carried it for something more then just a gimmick. I am glad to see they didn't didn't listen to critics and change the vision of the game at all and kept the art style true to the original game. It's just a shame it became a console sell out like C2 did, nothing can be done about it now though.

It's a good thing I have a 360 controller for my PC, now if I decide to pick this up it sounds like it you are recommending a controller is that right Tharic?
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand



Last edited by Kayden; 07-05-2011 at 11:21 PM.
Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:02 PM   #3
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

PhysX is just the physics library, like Havoc, used within the game and doesn't automatically require the use of an NVIDIA GPU. NVIDIA allow for more complex PhysX acceleration on their cards, but are by no means required. PhysX can be used on any CPU, even consoles.

The sudden drops in frame-rates could be momentary blips of run-away physics calculations, or it could be the result of an inefficient rendering engine (as is often the case with these types of ports). I should point out that I ran the game on minimum PhysX details too and it made no difference to the spikes (they happened regardless).

The game was run with everything maxed and at 1920x1200 resolution... but the game only renders up to 1080p (again, the sign of a console port), hence the black borders in the screenshots (they were put there by the game, not by me).

The use of the controller will help even out the demand put on your left hand for all major controls. There isn't anything stopping you from programming your mouse for weapon switch with R or the Caps-Lock and tab targeting. If you're comfortable with a controller, then by all means use it.

I do love the art and style of the game, it's what kept me going. It really livens up towards the end (as well as some of the story), it's just the actual 'game' part nearly drove me insane... ironically.
__________________
PSU: Corsair 1000HX - Case: Thermaltake Xaser VI Full Tower - CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @3.8GHz - Cooler: Thermaltake FRIO - Motherboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth - Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic 1600 - GPU: 2x AMD Radeon HD 5870 - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 6Gb/s +1TB +2TB storage - Audio: ODAC + O2 Amp, ASUS Xonar DX
K/B: Corsair K90 - Mouse: ROCCAT KONE XTD - Monitor: DELL U2410 - Speakers: Corsair SP2500 - Headphones: Beyerdynamic DT990 - Mic: Blue Yeti USB Microphone

- I need Fiber to fix my Irregular Bandwidth Syndrome -

Last edited by Tharic-Nar; 07-05-2011 at 11:07 PM.
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:23 PM   #4
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

Well thanks for setting me straight. I thought Phsyx was limited to static breaks not dynamic breaking when on the cpu only, so I didn't think it would effect you that much. At least I learned something new today. Thank you for the speedy reply as well.
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand


Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 03:02 AM   #5
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default

I want it...but on a console. Weird hearing me say that, no?
__________________

Intel Core i5-2500k @ 3.3GHz
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Corsair XMS 1600 8GB (2 x 4GB)
XFX Radeon HD 6970
Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W
Corsair H80 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Professional (x64)
TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:51 PM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I've been meaning to load up my copy of the game for a while, so I think I am going to have to soon. The thought of using the keyboard and mouse with the setup it gives you sounds like hell, so I am just going to start from the get-go with the Xbox gamepad. Given your opinion on the repetition, I am not sure it'll be a game I'll actually complete, but we'll see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCrimsonStar View Post
I want it...but on a console. Weird hearing me say that, no?
Why not just get it on the PC and crank the graphics up, but use an Xbox 360 gamepad?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:22 PM   #7
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Why not just get it on the PC and crank the graphics up, but use an Xbox 360 gamepad?
If it's a console port there's going to be virtually no difference in the graphics. The only thing that will be different from console is the added Physx acceleration. I have an AMD gpu so that would put a strain on my CPU, I'm not sure if it could handle that. I turned on Physx in Mirror's Edge and every time stuff started to fly my framerate would drop from 60 to 10.
__________________

Intel Core i5-2500k @ 3.3GHz
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Corsair XMS 1600 8GB (2 x 4GB)
XFX Radeon HD 6970
Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W
Corsair H80 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Professional (x64)
TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:32 PM   #8
OriginalJoeCool
Tech Monkey
 
OriginalJoeCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 617
Default

I liked the original game, so I wouldn't mind trying the sequel!
__________________
Last.fm

Raptr

"Man could hold the universe in his palm, if only he could learn to unclench his fist."
OriginalJoeCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA, Alice on Sale at Steam; Classic Ubisoft Games at GOG Rob Williams Tech Deals 1 10-21-2011 03:22 PM
Humble Bundle Returns with Frozen Synapse Rob Williams Gaming 2 09-29-2011 01:16 PM
Thief Steals Laptop, then Returns Data on USB Drive Rob Williams Mobile & Small Form-Factor Computing 2 10-21-2010 09:15 AM
More OCZ rebate madness. 2x1gb DDR2800 for ~$50! NicePants42 Tech Deals 0 09-21-2007 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 AM.