Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > General Software

General Software Apple, Linux, Windows, alternative OS and software application chat here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-15-2009, 03:07 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default UAC Pop-up with No Password Box?

Since its launch, Windows 7 has received a fair amount of praise and is being enjoyed by a rather significant number of users, and after what Vista brought to the table, it's great to see. But, as refined as the OS may be, there are still a number of issues with the OS that remain, and one of them I experienced first-hand last night. I'll explain how it happens here, and also the fix.



You can read the rest of our news post here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:17 AM   #2
2Tired2Tango
Tech Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
[I]... and one of them I experienced first-hand last night. I'll explain how it happens here, and also the fix.
It's not a bug Rob ... it's an undocumented feature!

It's this kind of thing that makes me wait for the service packs....
__________________
Tango

"An unexamined life is not worth living" ... Socrates
2Tired2Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 02:31 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

This is something that wouldn't be fixed in a service pack, because it is the intended design, albeit ridiculous. Since I was doing something that seemed rather sensible, I found it foolish to run into such a show-stopping issue. I looked around the Web, and I saw that others who ran into the issue simply reformatted, because they couldn't find a fix. How insane is that, for something so simple?

Once again, Microsoft should make it a lot easier to make an auto-logon. I'm not sure about OS X, but it can be done quite simply in Linux, so I'm not sure why Microsoft still hasn't implemented a simple method of doing it in all these years.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 02:21 AM   #4
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,652
Default

So, the brother's account was administrative level? That sounds like the issue, you Mother would have to type in his account password in order to make system level changes since she wasn't an admin level user.

If you want auto-login, just don't type in an account password during the install. If you want an account with admin privileges then disable UAC.

If the primary user is not going to have a password, yet a secondary user is going to have an admin level passworded account, then why not make them both admin level accounts? If you set up Windows 7 without a password, by default the UAC messages become warning prompts without a password box.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:30 AM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
So, the brother's account was administrative level? That sounds like the issue, you Mother would have to type in his account password in order to make system level changes since she wasn't an admin level user.

If you want auto-login, just don't type in an account password during the install. If you want an account with admin privileges then disable UAC.
It was vice versa... mom's account was admin, his wasn't. And not typing in a password is fine, until a second account is created, which was the ultimate goal. As soon as a second account is added, Windows will not automatically log into one at boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
If the primary user is not going to have a password, yet a secondary user is going to have an admin level passworded account, then why not make them both admin level accounts? If you set up Windows 7 without a password, by default the UAC messages become warning prompts without a password box.
I didn't want his account to be an admin account, because I didn't want him installing applications without thinking about it. I upgraded her PC and installed Windows 7 because previously, it ran like molasses. It turned out to be an HDD issue instead, so this entire change wasn't truly necessary, but my goal was always to have his as a limited account, to help force him to pay more attention to what he's doing on the PC.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:31 AM   #6
Jesus
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default

i agree with 2Tired2Tango "It's not a bug Rob ... it's an undocumented feature!

It's this kind of thing that makes me wait for the service packs.... "
Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam Databases Compromised; Password Changes Recommended Rob Williams Gaming 11 11-11-2011 10:14 AM
Password Protect a Hard Drive Xeroid Storage Devices and Memory 4 03-21-2008 11:19 PM
Hacking a Windows Password Via FireWire Rob Williams General Software 2 03-05-2008 03:54 PM
Firefox 2.0 Password bug Rob Williams General Software 0 11-22-2006 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.