Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2009, 11:49 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Overclocking Intel's Core i5-750 & i7-870

We found out earlier this week that Intel's Lynnfield-based processors are fast, but who said that cranking the clocks to make them even faster was a bad idea? In this article, we take both the Core i5-750 and i7-870 for an overclocking joyride, and the stable overclocks we were able to achieve is nothing short of impressive.

You can read our full report on overclocking Intel's latest processors here and discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 06:30 PM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default What about 1-core and 2-core operation?

Turbo Boost will jump 4 bins with 1/2 cores actives on i5-750. On i7-870 it jumps 4 bins with 2 cores active and 5 bins with 1 core active. Have you tested your stability in such scenarios?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 03:36 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Hi Unregistered:

From my understanding (and what I remember), overclocking a Turbo-equipped processor automatically disables the additional boost that the first and second core would see from a light workload. Instead, regardless of how hard you are pushing the CPU, cores 1 - 4 would share the same top-end clock frequency. If you are running the Core i5-750 at 173MHz and 20x in the BIOS, that means that one core or four, would all be using the same frequency of 3.633MHz (because of the 21x Turbo).

I can't verify this right now since I have other benchmarking machines hooked up, but I'm quite certain this is how it's always worked since Core i7 was first launched last fall.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 11:25 AM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you, I was unaware of this. I'll see if I can find more information or try it out myself since I'm currently building my own i5-750 machine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 07:04 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I recommend you take a look at the page I wrote on Turbo in our Lynnfield article, as it might clear up a little more on the tech:

http://techgage.com/article/intel_co...e_mainstream/3

You might also want to play around with TMonitor to experiment:

http://cpuid.com/tmonitor.php
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:10 AM   #6
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Does that mean then that if you're not upping the voltage you could possibly keep the stock heat-sink on it? Because otherwise you would have to take that added cost into the whole performance vs value of overclocking
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 04:14 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

If the CPU voltage is kept at stock, then a stock CPU cooler would suffice. Upping the CPU frequency does increase the CPU temperature as well, but its effect is nothing close to increasing the voltage.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 12:03 PM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Multiplier

I have an i5 on the Gigabyte P55 UD5 but the BIOS doesn't allow me to set the multiplier to 21. Am i missing something?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 11:19 AM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I have an i5 on the Gigabyte P55 UD5 but the BIOS doesn't allow me to set the multiplier to 21. Am i missing something?
That's the Turbo multiplier, and it's not available in the BIOS. Rather, once you overclock your processor, the multiplier of 21 will take effect on the next reboot if Turbo is still enabled. You can verify this by overclocking, then loading up CPU-Z and seeing if the multiplier does indeed go to 21x, which it should.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:10 PM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

on your core i7 870 CPU-Z scree shot it was only showing a voltage of 1.344v, which leaves another .05v for overclocking. If you actually had the 1.4v, you could probably hit 4.2GHz easy....

and also, the i5 can easily run 4.2GHz on that 1.4v, and the reason i know is because i am using one right now to write this!

nice job on the article btw!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 05:10 AM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
on your core i7 870 CPU-Z scree shot it was only showing a voltage of 1.344v, which leaves another .05v for overclocking. If you actually had the 1.4v, you could probably hit 4.2GHz easy....
Well that's true, but heat comes into the picture at some point for me. I tend to quote the voltage I use in the BIOS, but I need to begin quoting whatever CPU-Z is showing since it's a tad more accurate (as it reads the current real value from the BIOS).

Glad you are successfully running such a sweet clock on your chip
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 03:12 AM   #12
Nate
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey I enjoyed your article...It is nice to be able to get results on one page instead of clicking through 10 pages of ad-ridden geekdom.

Maybe for a conclusion you could do a cost-benefit analysis for a few of the common chips, with and without overclocking and with and without aftermarket coolers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 09:59 AM   #13
Ciddan
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Question Motherboard settings

Would it be possible for you to publish all of the settings you changed on the motherboard for the 3.63 Ghz Core i5 750 overclock? Or did you only change the base-/hostclock?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:37 AM   #14
Optix
Basket Chassis
 
Optix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,685
Default

Boo @ Turbo Boost!

Overclock the old fashioned way!

Yeah, I know. I'm not adding anything to the conversation but you can likely hit higher frequencies overclocking through the BIOS than you can with Turbo Boost provided your cooling holds out.
Optix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 12:26 PM   #15
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciddan View Post
Would it be possible for you to publish all of the settings you changed on the motherboard for the 3.63 Ghz Core i5 750 overclock? Or did you only change the base-/hostclock?
The host clock had to be set to 173MHz, that's it. Nothing else was changed. The success of this might vary between motherboards, so setting the voltage manually might be required. Judging by our screenshot, the real voltage was between 1.25v - 1.30v, so if you set it to 173MHz and it's not stable, then try pumping up the voltage manually to one of those values (or in the middle).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optix View Post
Boo @ Turbo Boost!

Overclock the old fashioned way!
Of course you can, because Turbo boost isn't the way to overclock, it simply boosts each core by a set amount. It's so easy to overclock way beyond the effectiveness of Turbo. I mean here, all I did was raise the BCLK and I had a brag-worthy OC.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Introduces Processor Overclocking Insurance Plan Rob Williams Processors 4 01-20-2012 12:23 PM
The State of Overclocking on Intel Motherboards Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 6 04-20-2011 07:18 PM
Overclocking Intel's Core i5-661 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 05-27-2010 11:37 AM
6-core Intel processors Merlin Processors 15 04-18-2008 11:35 AM
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 Quad-Core Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 07-28-2007 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.