Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2008, 02:54 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Gigabyte 9600 GT 512MB

If on the lookout for a good GPU at a great price, it's easier than ever. NVIDIA's 9600 GT packs a punch and retails for well under $200. We are taking Gigabyte's stock-clocked solution for a spin to see how it stacks up against our other models. And yes, it overclocks like a beast.

You can read the full review here and then discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 05:54 AM   #2
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Great Review

Mostly the overclock results and power consumption

A lot of information and time spent for all the results.

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 05:28 PM   #3
Disturbed1
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I got a asus top after I got a stock gigabyte 9600gt because I didn't know about factory overclocks (lol :P) and running them in sli. Do you know if I need the gigabyte in PCI-E slot 1 to overclock it close to the asus if I can?

And just wondering if you know what kind of temps you got while overclocking and if you would recommend cooling.

What temps are safe?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 08:52 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

If you install the Gigabyte and then the ASUS, the ASUS card will downclock to the same speeds as the Gigabyte. From there, you could overclock them both and hopefully have them both reach high speeds, but nothing can be guaranteed.

Two 9600GT's in SLI will offer great performance regardless, even with overclocking out of the picture.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 03:13 AM   #5
Disturbed1
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cool thanks.

yeah they do run pretty well together, about 13000 overall score with a p5n-d mobo, q9450 and 4gb 800 corsair ram, without any overclocks.

but in that case im even more intersted in overclocking my gigabyte now, with the asus downclocked and all lol.

So you dont remember temps? and i would need the gigabyte in slot 1 wouldnt i?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 03:17 AM   #6
Disturbed1
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And one other thing..

In the asus software its saying all the clocks are the same, but it wont let me control the fan speed or clock, so maybe its downclocking and not telling me?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 03:19 AM   #7
Disturbed1
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry, it is letting me change the settings, but it wont if im not in SLI mode, my bad.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Radeon HD 4770 512MB Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 08-31-2009 01:33 PM
ASUS EN9600GT TOP 512MB Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 04-20-2008 01:29 AM
Palit 9600 GT - $109.99 after MIR Rob Williams Tech Deals 5 04-11-2008 03:30 PM
ASUS EN8800GTS TOP 512MB Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 04-02-2008 12:43 AM
NVIDIA Uses Undisclosed Trick to Improve 9600 GT Performance Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 7 03-08-2008 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 AM.