Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2008, 02:49 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default PSU or mobo issue?

Hi all,

I have a weird problem I hope someone can help with. I have two different benchmarking rigs here, and the one I need seems to be rejecting certain GPUs, for some reason.

For example, I have two identical 8800GTS 512 cards, and one works just fine, but the other spawns a "Low power" error on Windows boot. If this was a problem with a single card, I could understand it, but it's not. Two different 8800GT's... one works, the other reports the same error. It seems to just pick and choose. However, all errors remain constant on this particular rig.

The GPUs are fine, however. When plugged into the other machine, they work perfect, so I am not sure what the deal is. Right now there is an 8800GTX installed and it works fine, and it's definitely the biggest power pig of a card I have here.. so if it works fine, anything should.

Does anything think this might be more of a PSU issue, or a motherboard issue? The PSU in question is an Antec 1000W:

http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=27100

Thanks guys, I appreciate any help!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 06:35 AM   #2
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,666
Default

Have you tried swapping the PCIE-G power plugs around to see if the warning migrates? In other words, swap the power cables from one card to the other and if it is indeed a power issue (on the PSU end of things) the warning will move from the card doing it in config a to config b (the configs in question are just the power cables being swapped).

Is there an auxilary power connection on the mobo? I.E. a four pin molex? If there is try hooking power to it. Also make certain that the last four pins on the 24-pin ATX connector are solidly plugged in. Some 20+4 connectors can be loose on those four even though the first 20 are solid.

Good luck.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Upcoming EVGA GTX470
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:04 AM   #3
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

This power supply does not work with the new Nvidia G92 core. Such as an 8800 gts 512 OR an 8800 GT 512.
Antec, knows of the problem but will not let you RMA through them, and will not downgrade the power supply to one that works.

Some are saying to bend the two extra pins to the side ( 8 pin connection ) and plugging in with the 6 pins active.

contact the customer support department at 1-800-222-6832
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit


Last edited by Merlin; 02-02-2008 at 09:15 AM.
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:37 AM   #4
b1lk1
Tech Monkey
 
b1lk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
This power supply does not work with the new Nvidia G92 core. Such as an 8800 gts 512 OR an 8800 GT 512.
Antec, knows of the problem but will not let you RMA through them, and will not downgrade the power supply to one that works.

Some are saying to bend the two extra pins to the side ( 8 pin connection ) and plugging in with the 6 pins active.

contact the customer support department at 1-800-222-6832
I agree. Antec has really dropped the ball with their high end power supplies and Nvidia cards. Even a 600W unit should easily power 8800 SLI.
__________________
Oldschool PC:
Intel E6300/Nouctua NH-9U w/dual 92mm Panaflos
XFX 680i LT
Patriot PC2-6400 2X2GB LL
2 X BFG 8800GTX in SLI
Enermax Revolution 620W PSU
ASUS 24X DVD/Seagate 250GB SATA 2/THermaltake A90/Windows 7 Ultimate 64
b1lk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:32 AM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmat View Post
Have you tried swapping the PCIE-G power plugs around to see if the warning migrates? In other words, swap the power cables from one card to the other and if it is indeed a power issue (on the PSU end of things) the warning will move from the card doing it in config a to config b (the configs in question are just the power cables being swapped).

Is there an auxilary power connection on the mobo? I.E. a four pin molex? If there is try hooking power to it. Also make certain that the last four pins on the 24-pin ATX connector are solidly plugged in. Some 20+4 connectors can be loose on those four even though the first 20 are solid.

Good luck.
I tried three different PCI-E connections... all the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
This power supply does not work with the new Nvidia G92 core. Such as an 8800 gts 512 OR an 8800 GT 512.
Antec, knows of the problem but will not let you RMA through them, and will not downgrade the power supply to one that works.

Some are saying to bend the two extra pins to the side ( 8 pin connection ) and plugging in with the 6 pins active.
I just purchased this PSU for this purpose... so I can just bring it back. I don't think the 8-Pin trick would work, because I tested it also by plugging in the straight 6-Pin PCI-E cable it offers and still had the same problem.

I guess the question to ask though, is why does one 8800GTS work and not the other? Ditto with the 8800GT.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:37 AM   #6
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,666
Default

Is it not working in the same slot? That could point to a combination of PSU AND mobo incompatibility.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Upcoming EVGA GTX470
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:42 AM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Tested different slots as well... that's how I originally found out about it. It was the bottom card that was "faulty".
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:52 AM   #8
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,666
Default

This is between the GT and GTS I take it. The only thing I can suggest is using a different PSU (such as that OCZ) and seeing if the issue resolves itself. It won't work if the board has to have dual 8 pin EPS connectors but some will work with either an 8 pin or 4 pin ATX 12V. I'd have to see the manual for your specific board to know if it's possible to do either or with it.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Upcoming EVGA GTX470
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:58 AM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Yeah, both the 8800GTS 512 and 8800GT card (both ASUS) have the problem. The Palit 8800GT and one of the ASUS 8800GTS 512s work fine.

The board requires two 8-Pin EPS connectors for overclocking, but thanks to Canada Customs, I didn't receive it yet, hence why I ran out to pick up this PSU. I can e-mail you the manual to the motherboard.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:01 AM   #10
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,666
Default

Cool, please do email it. And since you can run the board under stock speeds with an 8 pin and 4 pin I'd suggest trying another PSU just to verify the PSU as being incompatible with your specific setup.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Upcoming EVGA GTX470
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:15 AM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I don't have the time this weekend to swap out PSU's, and the only other one I have is an OCZ ~700W which is in my main rig, so I can't so easily move it. Manual e-mailed.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:24 AM   #12
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,666
Default

I read it and outlined the only way for you to verify the Antec as the problem in your system. I must ask, do you have the auxiliary molex power connected to the mobo? If not try that, it is a must have for cards greater than 75W.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Upcoming EVGA GTX470
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever have this issue with Origin? Rob Williams Gaming 6 02-28-2013 03:14 PM
Having an issue with NAT Rob Williams General Hardware 15 04-18-2012 04:46 PM
Got an issue TheCrimsonStar General Hardware 5 09-15-2010 12:56 AM
USB issue tanusgreystar General Hardware 6 09-03-2008 03:18 PM
Video Issue g-sixty General Software 3 02-27-2007 02:08 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 AM.