Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2007, 10:33 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default ASUS Maximus Formula Special Edition

We took a look at the Blitz Formula and Extreme boards from ASUS just over two months ago, and now we have the X38 version of those boards on the bench today. In addition to featuring a Northbridge waterblock, it also has "extreme" overclocking ability and a great bundle.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 11:53 PM   #2
MakubeX
Partition Master
 
MakubeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 277
Default

Great review Rob.

Very sexy board. Love the included watercooling, good overclocker and the layout its pretty nice (not the best, but still quite good).

It's in the list of options for last DDR2 board I might eventually get.
__________________
HP LP2065 20.1" S-IPS LCD | Lian Li PC-7077A case w/window | Asus P5Q Deluxe | Intel Q9650 4.2GHz - 1.33v
4GB G.Skill PI PC2-8800 | Asus HD 4870X2 | Ultra X3 1KW PSU | X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Front Panel| Logitech Z-680 THX 5.1 Speakers

EK Supreme | EK FC-4870X2 block | Enzotech SNBW-SLI | Swiftech MCW30 | DDC-2 w/ XSPC Top | Laing D5 | Thermochill PA120.3 | Weapon Heatercore
MakubeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 09:22 AM   #3
NicePants42
Partition Master
 
NicePants42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
Default

I would like to know how the heat sink is attached to the board - in some pictures it looks like typical black plastic push-pins with springs, but on the NB block it looks like actual screws may have been used - can you clarify this?

Also, (this may seem overly paranoid) how sure are you that the heat sink is made of copper? I only ask because the Abit IP35-Pro uses an all-aluminum heat sink that is painted to look like copper. I hope that ASUS wouldn't have done this with an enthusiast board, but it never hurts to be sure.

Thank you for noting the large number of fan headers, which I also appreciate; why spend $100+ on some fancy-ass BigNG or Aqua Computer bling when your motherboard can do the same job? Aside from the fan headers and impressive array of temperature and voltage readings, I'm also very interested in those OPT1 through OPT3 Temperature readings! It looks like users can attach up to three temperature sensors right to the board, (ambient, water/GPU, GPU/HDD, etc.) which would be great, especially if you can use OPT Q-fan and Power fan menu to configure fan speeds based on those temperatures. Can you elaborate a bit on those features?

Also, with the abundance of temperature and voltage readings available in the BIOS, I would think that a program (like Abit's uGuru) that displayed that information while in Windows would be extremely useful for monitoring temps/volts under load - does ASUS include any such program with the motherboard?

Last edited by NicePants42; 10-24-2007 at 09:24 AM.
NicePants42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 08:37 AM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Temperature

Thanks for the review. I did got hold off the motherboard yday and spend few hours setting up.
Using a Noctua for the time been. My question is : the temperature on an E6600 at 2.4Ghz and at 2.8Ghz to run at 62+C idle and the mobo is aprox 50C at the same time.
i took it down to stock levels 2.4Ghz and even then the cpu runs at 1.3xxV 60c+ degrees!!
Any ideas you can share with me?
Iam about to goto to a quad q6600 or q6700 but just now the temperatures do seem high . Is the case that the new mobos run 50C plus?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 08:49 AM   #5
NicePants42
Partition Master
 
NicePants42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
Default

I can't comment on the motherboard, but it sounds to me like you need to remount your heat sink. When you say 'using a Noctua' what exactly are you talking about - a full HSF assembly made by Noctua or some other heatsink with a Noctua 120mm fan?
NicePants42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 07:12 PM   #6
PoG
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was having the exact same problem with my E6750 running at 60+c idle. Like the guy above me said, you probably need to remount, thats what I did. I don't know how your heat sink attaches but if it's the push pin design like mine, I had to put firm pressure directly to the top of the heat sink while I pushed the pins in. The problem I had before was I was to gentle during my first mount and didn't get good contact. Now I run at about 45c under load.

Just my experience, may not be the same for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 04:23 PM   #7
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 4GB 1066 possible?

Hi!
I have a Maximus board but cannot get 4GB of 1066 Mhz memory to work.
Anyone that have tried?
It should work, but it just doesnt...

/john
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 07:54 PM   #8
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Set it up in the Bios
By the way, get the latest Bios first
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:01 PM   #9
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Hi!
I have a Maximus board but cannot get 4GB of 1066 Mhz memory to work.
Anyone that have tried?
It should work, but it just doesnt...

/john

What do you mean when you say that you cannot get it to work. Does the PC boot with the RAM installed or does it not get out of POST? What operating system are you using?
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 09:36 PM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default only ATI?

why is it that all fusion block mobos are ati based? im still waiting for a striker with fusion block.. ne1 kno if theres even going to be 1?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 07:54 PM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
why is it that all fusion block mobos are ati based? im still waiting for a striker with fusion block.. ne1 kno if theres even going to be 1?
nVIDIA, as far as I know, does not currently natively support the latest Intel processors (1333FSB, 45nm, etc) so ASUS sees no need to release another 680i board with the Fusion block. I would assume that once the 7x nVIDIA chipset hits, we will begin seeing more robust boards from ASUS and others.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 07:39 PM   #12
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default EDMUNDO_JR

try thermalright 120 exteme heatsink and flex fan 120mm. temps at idle on a q6600 were 24c.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 04:22 AM   #13
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Hi!
I have a Maximus board but cannot get 4GB of 1066 Mhz memory to work.
Anyone that have tried?
It should work, but it just doesnt...

/john
This may be due to your operating system. 32 bit operating systems support, on average, 3GB at most. This can be increased by a couple hundred MB depending on components and settings; however, if you want to run 4GB + of Ram, you will need to use a 64 bit OS.

Google it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 04:47 PM   #14
Wender
Obliviot
 
Wender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Default hd 3870x2

Hey guys....i wondering if is possible to use the new ati's radeon hd 3870x2 in a Maximus Formula Especial Edition ???
Wender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 11:13 AM   #15
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wender View Post
Hey guys....i wondering if is possible to use the new ati's radeon hd 3870x2 in a Maximus Formula Especial Edition ???
I don't think that there'll be a problem. It should work, without any problem. Also as i know, (hd3870x2)s doesn't require any other spec comparing a hd3870.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory for my Asus Maximus Formula OR Upgrade? BoySCouT Motherboards 6 02-04-2014 10:11 PM
RAM for Asus Maximus Formula? BoySCouT Storage Devices and Memory 14 12-23-2008 10:41 PM
Maximus Formula POST Troubles! BoySCouT Motherboards 7 04-10-2008 08:23 PM
Asus Maximus Formula and Tuniq Tower 120 Cooler BoySCouT Overclocking and Cooling 5 12-11-2007 05:51 PM
ASUS Maximus Formula first thoughts Rob Williams Motherboards 12 11-25-2007 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 AM.