Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2007, 01:46 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H

Gigabyte's new GA-MA69GM-S2H board has HTPC written all over it, with no fewer than six possible video output types, optical Toslink output, and AMD's 690G chipset with Radeon X1250 IGP. In our review, we find more than a few reasons to recommend it to anyone who’s considering a new HTPC.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:06 PM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Just Fred

Gigabyte's new GA-MA69GM-S2H board has lots of options for Cpu and DDr voltage adjustments if you hit Cont F1 the bios will open a whole new set of options
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:18 PM   #3
Rory Buszka
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 388
Default

We're looking into this. We used the same methods HardOCP used, but with one of the new AMD Athlon BE-2300 CPUs (65nm, 45W TDP), and we can't see any of these voltage options. We suspect it's because of the CPU being used - the voltage options may not be available for CPUs that request a voltage that's outside a certain range. Over the weekend we'll test the board with a different CPU and see what we can find out. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
__________________
Best Regards,

Rory Buszka
Rory Buszka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:47 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

This isn't your fault, heh, it's mine, I admit it. I read over those sections without a second thought, but I knew full-well of the quirky BIOS, because I had that same problem with the first Gigabyte board I've reviewed.

I really need to stop editing reviews in the middle of the night. Sorry all.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 12:01 AM   #5
Rory Buszka
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 388
Default

Ok, so we figured out what's going on: None of the official Gigabyte BIOS releases available from their web site contain the voltage adjustments, but there is a modified BIOS (based on revision F3A) floating around that adds that functionality. Not like it will matter, however - we were only able to overclock our 1.9GHz BE-2300 to 2.1 GHz on the board. It's not an overclocker's board - it's designed for home theater PCs, not overclocked enthusiast machines. It's easy to see why Gigabyte decided to forego the inclusion of voltage modifications. If you have a CPU with an unlocked multiplier (like an Athlon FX or the Black Edition 5000+), you're welcome to try overclocking, but we by no means guarantee you'll get good results.
__________________
Best Regards,

Rory Buszka
Rory Buszka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:13 AM   #6
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Just Fred

I found another review that projects a totally different kind of review on this motherboard. They seem to think this board comes close to walking on water. I personally have built a system with a 65mm dual core 4000 chip and 2 gigs of Crucial Ballistix 6400 ddr and was able to get to 2.85. Not bad but it in no way will part the waters. By the way I am using a Zallman 9700 cooler too. Setting the voltages is by no means an easy process.

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 01:20 AM   #7
MakubeX
Partition Master
 
MakubeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 277
Default

Very nice review. This is one sweet HTPC board. Love that it has on-board HDMI.
__________________
HP LP2065 20.1" S-IPS LCD | Lian Li PC-7077A case w/window | Asus P5Q Deluxe | Intel Q9650 4.2GHz - 1.33v
4GB G.Skill PI PC2-8800 | Asus HD 4870X2 | Ultra X3 1KW PSU | X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Front Panel| Logitech Z-680 THX 5.1 Speakers

EK Supreme | EK FC-4870X2 block | Enzotech SNBW-SLI | Swiftech MCW30 | DDC-2 w/ XSPC Top | Laing D5 | Thermochill PA120.3 | Weapon Heatercore
MakubeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 10:02 AM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default What Cooling fan are you using in this review?

The stock fan that came with my CPU
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+(65W) Windsor 2.2GHz Socket AM2 Processor
Dosent fit the board.


Thanks
[email protected]
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 06:25 PM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't get it - this is obviously an HTPC motherboard... why woukdn't you test it playing Blu-Ray and HD DVD discs as well as other media like mkv h.264 video files?

I believe that the target audience for this board would be mainly interested in that.. .no gamer is going to buy this board!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:25 AM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah I totally agree with that - Nobody wants to buy this for gaming but it seems everyone that reviews these HDPC mATX boards wants to test them with demanding games!?

I just bought this board with an AMD Athlon 64 LE-1600 which is the new single core version of the 4200+ but uses both lots of cache to achieve 1mb and I'm finding it struggling to play 1080p mkv's, it's fine with 720p though. I also bought a HDDVD drive but am yet to test it but assume if it struggles with mkv's it's gonna be worse with raw HDDVD.
Saying that the board is going back due to USB ports not always detecting anything including my keyboard which makes it fail to boot! AND when playing anything fullscreen I get some sort of interference from the hard drive causing streaking across the screen
So, hopefully the fact that it struggles to play 1080p is due to a faulty board.


Also a good reason for wanting voltage control is because of RAM. I'm using Corsair XMS and that's recommended to be at 2.1v but goes to 1.8v by default.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:26 AM   #11
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I mean HTPC
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 02:07 PM   #12
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The review is completely useless. Give us some statistics on dropped frames while playing back HD content. I don't want to but this for gaming, I would want to buy it based on movie playback performance. Why test a pickup truck's maximum speed when you buy it for torque and hauling performance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 05:08 PM   #13
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
The review is completely useless. Give us some statistics on dropped frames while playing back HD content. I don't want to but this for gaming, I would want to buy it based on movie playback performance. Why test a pickup truck's maximum speed when you buy it for torque and hauling performance?
First off, if I understand your grammar.
This is a good part of the performance and tells you a lot of things if YOU know computers, look at the whole picture before you put forth your grammar. And not everyone used their computer for gaming .....duh

( may not understand this )....anyway

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE at CES 2011 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 01-12-2011 02:58 PM
Gigabyte P55-UD5 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 09-30-2009 01:34 PM
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 17 04-17-2009 08:25 PM
Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 11 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 15 12-28-2007 03:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 PM.