Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2007, 08:49 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default OCZ 4GB PC2-6400 Platinum Edition

Like a fine wine, installing 4GB of RAM requires an acquired taste. Not everyone likes wine, and not everyone needs 4GB of RAM. However, with Vista and the future looking to change that, many are considering a move on up. Today we are taking a look at a kit that's not only priced right, but has some overclocking headroom as well.

You can read the full article whilst ignoring the lame intro here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 12:04 AM   #2
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Very thorough
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 01:09 AM   #3
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default vista 32 bit

Vista 32 bit is compatible and will use up to 8 GB of memory.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:57 PM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

umm no it wont. just because your mother board supports 8 gigs doesnt mean a 32 bit system will use it all. it is mathamaticly impossible for a 32 bit system to addres more than 4 gigs of data
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 05:06 PM   #5
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

ummmmmm that's 3 gigs...not 4 for a 32 bit system
You can put 4 in, but the system won't see but 3
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Releases 4GB 1000MHz Platinum Kit Rob Williams Storage Devices and Memory 1 01-18-2008 06:43 PM
OCZ 2GB DDR3-1333 Platinum Edition Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 08-23-2007 11:27 PM
OCZ 2GB PC2-7200 EPP Platinum Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 4 04-19-2007 01:52 PM
OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Special Ops Edition Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 06-08-2006 12:38 AM
Corsair 2GB XMS PC4000 Platinum Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 11-21-2005 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 PM.