Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2007, 09:42 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default abit AirPace WiFi PCI-E Card

abit is well known for their graphic cards and motherboards, especially to the enthusiast crowd. However, network cards was a new one on us, but that changed now that we've taken a look at their reliable PCI-E WiFi card. The best part : It's currently available for $6 after MIR at one popular e-tailer.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:32 PM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default vista 64 bit

Does anyone know if this will work on a 64bit vista machine??
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:36 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

I wouldn't chance it. abit's support page offers nothing more than support for their motherboards.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:47 PM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default They show a Vista driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Does anyone know if this will work on a 64bit vista machine??
Did You install one? I notice several on Ebay - but with a stcker that says these are for the Abit motherboards only -

http://www.abit.com.tw/page/en/multi...RODINFO=Driver

Notice the revised driver download.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 10:28 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Nice find. I don't recall seeing that support there when I had a gander.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 01:09 PM   #6
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with AP mode please!!

I've had the AirPace wifi card for a few years now, but I would like to know how to use it as an access point. I've switched to AP mode, established a new network with a WEP security code. My PS3 and laptop can find the wireless network, but cannot connect to it when i enter the password. Any clues??
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 05:21 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

I know this isn't a great suggestion, but did you try disabling security on the card entirely, to see if the PS3 or laptop could connect then? Maybe it's just an issue with WEP.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In flight wifi FTW Greg King Off Topic 20 12-16-2010 04:35 PM
Turning Your SIM Card into a MicroSIM Card Rob Williams Mobile & Small Form-Factor Computing 0 05-06-2010 06:31 AM
abit to Close its Doors on December 31 Rob Williams Motherboards 7 01-06-2009 03:02 AM
WiFi-Capable SD Card Removes Need For USB Cable Rob Williams Storage Devices and Memory 0 10-30-2007 04:48 PM
WiFi is completely unstable... Rob Williams General Hardware 17 06-14-2007 02:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 AM.