Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2007, 02:07 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default D-Link DNS-323 NAS

There's something to be said for convenient, mappable network storage. NAS not only offers an affordable way to keep your data safe, but also a handy way to share all your "stuff". As our review states, this name branded BYOD NAS box delivers on all fronts.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 05:49 AM   #2
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Looks like a lot of usable features,

In the test of speeds, what drives did you use?

I could see using a couple of 500 mb drives to total a tera bite storage.
And also I see Circuit City being the cheapest.

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 08:07 AM   #3
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

The drives used in the review were a pair of Seagate 750 GB ES drives. Just to keep you posted, if you like network storage, wait for the next two NAS boxes we look at. They take the functionality of this D-Link and add a lot more. Should be fun.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2

Last edited by Greg King; 06-27-2007 at 02:59 PM.
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 12:44 AM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OS support?

Glad to have found this review; I've been looking at them for a while, but .....

I didn't notice in your post any reference to what OS you used. The manufacturer's site says Win XP, with Vista soon .... I've got a mixed network with Vista and XP (okay, and one old Win 98, but that's just for vintage games), and would like to know if anyone has some experience with this NAS in Vista? Also, perhaps a few words from anyone that's used the print server function? Thanks for your input!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 08:31 AM   #5
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

The print server functionality of the NAS is pretty straight forward. As for it working with Vista, I will try that out today and get back to you. I cannot imagine it not working with Vista, just map the drive with the correct path but I will confirm this for you this afternoon. Thanks for reading through the review.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 01:59 PM   #6
captdan
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Thanks for the effort!

I appreciate your quick get-back.

I know the print server function should be straight-forward, but this is the real world. I've been through a few other NAS's that were supposed to offer this function, only to run into a long series of snafus ... you know, the kind where even with their tech support (and I'm not exactly computer illiterate myself) there was no positive resolution.

Similar with Vista; should be straight-forward, but nothing with Vista seems full-cooked. And that doesn't even count the half-baked drivers the manufacturers are putting out ... but I diverge....

Anyway, THANKS for your post, and your follow through!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 02:37 PM   #7
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

Don't thank me yet

Give me a day or so and I will test out the print server and Vista connectivity and report back with any information thats remotely relevant.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 02:14 PM   #8
Jamison73
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Mac/PC Mixed Network

Will this work in a Mac/PC Mixed Network? Also can an Xbox 360 connect to the media?

Thanks,
Jamison
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:13 PM   #9
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

From what I have read online, getting the 323 to play nicely with both Macs and PCs is difficult and requires a debian install on the DNS itself. With that said, I do not own a Mac so I can't guarantee any of this to be true.

As for the 360, if you will give me some time to look around, or barrow one, I will test this out for you as well. I am currently waiting for my 360 to come back from Microsoft. I am glad they made the warranties 3 years.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 11:47 PM   #10
Yann
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Any news with Vista compatibility

I've installed the DNS-323 and I can't get it map to my computer. Funny enough, I was able to get it map on my XP PRO installed in virtual server (MS Virtual PC 2007) on my Vista machine. I spoke to level 2 support at D-LINK for 2 hours and wasn't able to be fix (they are very bad). Seems that we need to wait for the Vista driver... unless someone get it right. If so, just let me know and post your solution.

Yann
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 07:23 PM   #11
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default other two devices?

you mentioned you were going to review 2 other NAS devices. has those reviews been published? curious as i just purchased a DNS-323 and now im thinking this purchase maybe premature

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:31 PM   #12
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default DNS-323 and Vista Compatability

I too have vista and having problems with mapping the drives. Anybody knows the solution other than waiting for a new firmware?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 10:28 PM   #13
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

I will contact D-Link tomorrow about this issue and see if they are knowledgeable about any resolution... that and I can retest the device and see if I can get things to work.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 10:35 PM   #14
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Vista Issues

I've just bought a DNS-323 and couldn't get it to map from Vista. In my desparation to get it working I downloaded the beta 1.04 of the firmware from some obscure site.
The Vista mapping now works great and speed is fantastic and thought my problems had been fixed.
But no, the firmware has ISSUES with Office 2007 files, namely Excel .xlsx files and screws up the permissions, so even if you copy them back, they are corrupted.

Sure, its beta software and I shouldn't have used it. I haven't lost my originals. But due to the mapping issues with 1.03, I was forced into the beta firmware.

Unless this issue is solved soon, I'll be investing in a legitimate NAS, not this solution
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 01:48 PM   #15
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This is an issue with the version of samba used on the DNS-323:

Run secpol.msc

Go to: Local Policies > Security Options

Find "Network Security: LAN Manager authentication level"

Change Setting from "Send NTLMv2 response only"
to
"Send LM & NTLM - use NTLMv2 session security if negotiated"

Vista defaults to only send the more secure NTLMv2 protocol, which these NAS devices / Samba do not support.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Link DGL-4500 Xtreme N Gaming Router Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 36 06-25-2010 01:12 PM
D-Link Xtreme N DIR-655 Wireless Router Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 15 08-23-2008 04:35 PM
Fake CNN.com 'Daily Top 10' E-mails Link to Malware Rob Williams Off Topic 1 08-09-2008 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.