Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2007, 12:14 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,350
Default Vantec NexStar LX NAS

As NAS is becoming ever more popular, many are looking for the best bang for the buck. That's where Vantecs $60 unit comes into play. Although it offers IDE support only, it proves to be quite a solid offering.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 03:50 AM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Be careful about the filesystem this device supports for the HDD. Its only FAT32 only in network mode!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:48 AM   #3
SmackDaddy
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Be careful about the filesystem this device supports for the HDD. Its only FAT32 only in network mode!
Is there ANY affordable NAS enclosure which supports NTFS?!?!?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 01:31 PM   #4
BigMu
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Vista Problems Fixed

I've been struggling to get my Vantec NST-375LX working with Vista for ages.
I've tried multiple network cards, routers, disabled and remove my anti-virus and turned off my firewall and it still keeps freezing and crashing when I try view and copy files to and from the NAS.
I've also tried all the netsh commands and variables without success - Don't waste your time messing around with these settings.

I've upgraded to the latest version of the firmware NAS-BASIC46 from the Vantec site which made no difference.

Finally, I found out that the Vantec firmware can be flashed with LANTEC NAS-BASIC48 Firmware which is the new Vista compatible firmware version.
I uploaded the new firmware, rebooted and it works 100% now.

The web interface is slightly different but it's essentially the same thing and all your settings will be kept when you do the flash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 01:39 PM   #5
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

Thank you BigMu for sharing that. I hope it helps anyone with similar problems.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 03:02 PM   #6
BigMu
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default NAS-BASIC48

Do a search on Google for NAS-BASIC48 to get the firmware.
Not sure if I can post links - but here's where I got my version:
http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/Oth...ader-069.shtml
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 02:25 AM   #7
Firzam
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMu View Post
I've been struggling to get my Vantec NST-375LX working with Vista for ages.
I've tried multiple network cards, routers, disabled and remove my anti-virus and turned off my firewall and it still keeps freezing and crashing when I try view and copy files to and from the NAS.
I've also tried all the netsh commands and variables without success - Don't waste your time messing around with these settings.

I've upgraded to the latest version of the firmware NAS-BASIC46 from the Vantec site which made no difference.

Finally, I found out that the Vantec firmware can be flashed with LANTEC NAS-BASIC48 Firmware which is the new Vista compatible firmware version.
I uploaded the new firmware, rebooted and it works 100% now.

The web interface is slightly different but it's essentially the same thing and all your settings will be kept when you do the flash.
yep, my NAS crash even with winxp!! now I make the upgrade with LANTEC NAS-BASIC48 firmware it works great, no more crash for me now. Thanks!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 04:19 AM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aaaaa, thank you BigMu! I'm also having problems, and I hope the NAS-BASIC48 firmware can solve them!

I quick question... What file do I use? I uncompressed the archive and there are more then one BIN file. Do I use the one named FirmwareBasicNAS.bin ?!

Thanks a lot!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:41 PM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Nexstar LX running as an FTP server

Over the past few months I have tried every way I know to get the FTP server function working on my Nexstar LX. I have tried two different routers (Linksys WRT54GL and Trendnet TEW-432BRP) and even tried bypassing the router and connecting the LX straight to my ADSL modem. I changed the Linksys firmware to DD-WRT hoping that would help.

I have a thread running at http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/netwo...p-problem.html
and received many suggestions. My knowledge of networking is very limited so I could be doing something very stupid. My ISP (Telus) may be successfully blocking FTP but I doubt that are able to block all ports. Has anyone succeeded in gaining FTP access to this unit from a remote PC? If so, would you be willing to share basic setup information (how LX gateway and DNS relates to router gateway and DNS, port forwarding/triggering, etc.)?

Thanks for any help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 07:41 PM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I also am with Telus right now, I can't get the FTP working either. I read something about Telus blocking FTP-type packets so that it doesn't work. So you can't host on Telus from what I know no matter the port.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vantec EZ Swap EX & NexStar SX 2.5" Hard-Drive Enclosures Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 02-09-2010 08:08 PM
Vantec NexStar3 Enclosure Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 10-14-2007 11:01 PM
Vantec Vortex 2 HDD Cooler Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 01-27-2006 12:06 AM
Vantec 701A HDD Enclosure Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 12-30-2005 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.