Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2007, 09:21 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default ASUS WL-700gE Wireless Router

There have been many feature-packed routers to come out of the ASUS shops in the past year, but the WL-700gE takes the cake thanks to its pre-installed 160GB hard drive. Is this NAS/Router hybrid worth your $200?

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 08:08 AM   #2
EZero
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

1 thing I'd like to know is does the router spin down the drive when not in use? Over time this could make quite a difference in the life of the harddrive.

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 10:01 AM   #3
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

Thats a very good question and one I was about to ask.

To add to that, whats the upgradability of the hard drive? Would it be to difficult to change out the provided 160 or 250 gb drive and throw in, say, a 500 gb? Could this be as simple as simply ghosting the old drive onto the new one?
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 01:01 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default

From what I can tell, the drive does spin down, but it doesn't turn off if it's not in use, similar to when in use on a PC. As for upgradability, it's something I wanted to touch on, but I didn't have a spare hard drive to test it out. It would depend primarily on three things.

1) The firmware would have to support over 250GB... if it does it shouldn't be much of a problem.
2) The drive has to be formatted in RAW (From what I can tell, not even sure how to accomplish this)
3) It might need various system related files.

Once I get a spare HDD I will test it out.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 07:15 AM   #5
vinnie97
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Congrats on posting this. The only thing this device is missing is Draft N, right? That's a big bummer for me, since Asus is guaranteeing upgradability on the AL-500W.
vinnie97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 09:17 AM   #6
NicePants42
Partition Master
 
NicePants42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
Default

I haven't kept up with the latest draft N hardware, but the last roundup I read indicated that not only did draft N not offer any significant speed improvement, but it also had a tendency to interfere with non-N networks.

I'm sticking with my linksys until N is no longer a draft.
NicePants42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 03:03 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
Congrats on posting this. The only thing this device is missing is Draft N, right? That's a big bummer for me, since Asus is guaranteeing upgradability on the AL-500W.
I wonder if it's possible that the 700gE could go through the same upgrade? I'd find it weird that a firmware update could take care of that, thought. Chances are they will release a Draft N version of the router if it sells well enough.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 04:50 PM   #8
moon111
Partition Master
 
moon111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 266
Default

That's one sweet looking device. Would be cool to be able to download content then have any one be able to turn on a computer or HTPC and watch a movie. I hate making DVDs. The ability to upgrade the harddrive is an interesting question. How about remotely accessing a webcam?
moon111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 05:11 PM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default

I couldn't get that feature to work, but I'm not sure if it's because I am using a crappy webcam. I had problems with it before (Notebooks Pro), so I wouldn't blame the router before the webcam. I can't really comment though.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 11:39 PM   #10
vinnie97
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NicePants42 View Post
I haven't kept up with the latest draft N hardware, but the last roundup I read indicated that not only did draft N not offer any significant speed improvement, but it also had a tendency to interfere with non-N networks.

I'm sticking with my linksys until N is no longer a draft.
I can get up to 60Mbps throughput with the Asus AL500W from a floor below the router using both Linksys and Asus hardware clients. I'm happy with the results.

Rob, you're probably right, though Apple pulled a similar move when they offered an 802.11n upgrade to their Airport routers.
vinnie97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 01:38 AM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,352
Default

What kind of connection are you keeping on the floor below? I am having a bizarre problem with my moms PC still. Though I am using WPA-PSK, sometimes her PC will just randomly change it to WPA2-PSK, so I have to come out and change it back. Very annoying... I wish I knew why it was happening.

BTW, tell me what WoW to pick up, and I'll order it... you Tiesto h8r.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 02:11 AM   #12
vinnie97
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default

LOL, the connection down below is pretty solid. I fudged the results a bit above...the highest I actually remember seeing with Qcheck is 54 Mbps. Sometimes Windows reports an "excellent" signal yet is only connected at "162 Mbps." I'm not sure why that is but this is with utilizing WPA2-PSA utilizing AES encryption.

And there are 2 other WOW albums besides the last...one's the debut (self-titled) and the other is Intensify. I'd recommend both.
vinnie97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 10:39 PM   #13
[email protected]
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Question help

hey there, just bought the asus wl 700ge and internet won't work, am on dsl, prolink h9200 modem with pppoa settings, anybody have any advice, have tried dhcp, pppoe, ppptp and static ip just wont work, anyone have any advice?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 04:41 AM   #14
sixfoot10
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default platform compatibility

Hi,

I am very new to networking/routers and was wondering if there would be an issue here for an Imac, PC and laptop (Both on XP) to all run off this router?

I love the features of the extra storage and the continued downloads.

Can anyone tell me if there would be an issue across platforms?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS WL-500gU Wireless Router Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 08-18-2009 01:27 PM
D-Link Xtreme N DIR-655 Wireless Router Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 15 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
TRENDnet TEW-631BRP Wireless N Router Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 02-13-2008 08:32 PM
Asus WL-700ge and .pst file caspervalentin1 Storage Devices and Memory 1 11-24-2007 02:25 AM
$5 wireless router? Rob Williams Tech Deals 0 01-03-2007 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 PM.