Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2007, 09:57 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 4000

Microsoft recently announced an update to their Wireless Optical Desktop 4000 with the primary difference being updates for Vista and also the inclusion of a Laser mouse. We are taking a fresh look at this updated product to see if it's worth your $80.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 06:14 PM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default No Auto Sleep mode with desktop 4000

I enjoy my MS wireless optical desktop 4000 and I have one on my Dell Laptop and just installed one on my new HP Vista PC. However on the HP the desktop 4000 will not allow the PC to go into sleep mode automaticly. There is no option in Device Manager to allow putting the PC to sleep. The option to not allow wake up this there but not the option to put the PC to sleep. Anyone have a fix?
THanks,
John
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 06:22 PM   #3
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Above post

Okay, Did another Google search and found there is NO fix for this problem on Vista as per http://support.microsoft.com/kb/913405
John
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 11:19 PM   #4
MacMan
Partition Master
 
MacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 436
Default Microsoft Laser 4000

Great article Rob.

Even though I doubt I will ever buy that particular Microsoft keyboard combination, I still enjoyed the piece. I enjoyed it because I have been using Microsoft mice and trackballs for about six years now. The software is not the greatest perhaps (but hey, its Microsoft, what did you expect?) but I have found them to be rugged and reliable..

I Infact, the mouse I am using now I have been using since 2001.... six years and still going strong! I see no need to buy another since this one works as good as the day I bought it.
__________________
MacMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:50 AM   #5
imjohn
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Wireless signal problems with 4000 Mouse & Keyboard

I've been using the 4000 for about a month now and am very satisfied . . . when it works.
Lately I've been having problems with signal reception from both the keyboard and the mouse. Occasionally I get a warning pop-up stating that the keyboard signal quality is low and giving me the option to troubleshoot or ignore. I've tried both and either way the pop-up disappears and the keyboard continues to work ok. When I go to the Microsoft Keyboard program, it shows my wireless battery and signal quality as both being good. So, even though the keyboard warnings are annoying it continues working ok.

NOT SO with the mouse. I never get a warning about the mouse's signal quality; however, I'm having a problem with the mouse functions. The main problem is with left-clicking (single or double). That signal is not being received and nothing happens. I've moved the receiver onto my mouse pad between the keyboard and the remaining mouse area and I still have theproblem if I move the mouse a short distance from the receiver (like 5/6"). (It does not occur all the time, but way too often.) When I notice that nothing is happening, I can move the mouse next to the receiver and it receives the left-click ok.

I open the Microsoft Mouse program and it informs me that the battery level is good and the signal level is high, but the problem remains. Even though I'm told the batteries are ok, I replaced them anyway . . . to no avail.

Anybody have any ideas ?

John
imjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 11:48 PM   #6
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Wireless mouse died!

I've been using the Microsoft desktop desktop 4000 for a little more than a mouse. and suddenly it died. the keyboard's fine. but the mouse is on, batteries are fully charged and the connection is perfectly fine. but why can't it move.?!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 06:30 AM   #7
Jean-Raoul
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Left-clicking problems with Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000

Hi,
I got exacly the same problem with my Wireless Laser Mouse 6000. Sometimes the left-click does not respond and my Windows XP seems to be locked. I tried to google a solution for that without success. If you have any ideas to solve this problem, I will appreciate.
Thanks

Jean-Raoul
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 02:19 AM   #8
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

Sorry I can't help you guys... I gave this kit to a family member once the review was done and it's still kicking. Sounds like some foolish problem though... one that we've just happened to somehow avoid.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 01:28 PM   #9
Paul In SF
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default regarding scroll wheel lag

You mentioned in the review a lag in the scroll wheel that causes the page to keep scrolling after you stop moving the wheel. I have noticed that in other MS mouses, and it seems to be a function of the software. I found that the mouse worked fine once I uninstalled the software program that came with the mouse (or if I never installed that software).
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 02:48 AM   #10
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

Ahh good catch. Next time I seem to have that problem, I will uninstall the driver and see if that fixes things. Still, a foolish workaround though. The drivers should make the experience better, not worse.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 07:16 PM   #11
lil_ri_redhead
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: arizona
Posts: 2
Default Wireless Laser Desktop 4000

I just received the microsoft wireless laser desktop 4000 with the laser mouse 5000. I got the mouse to work but cannot get the keyboard to work. I am running windows xp pro if that helps. I have uninstalled twice and reinstalled it, also tried different usb ports which didn't help.
I would appreciate any help.
lil_ri_redhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 01:12 AM   #12
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

Hmm, that's interesting. The keyboard doesn't work at -all-? It should have come with a purple USB-to-PS/2 converter... I would try that out and see if you are still stuck with the same problem. If so, chances are that the keyboard is DOA.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 05:09 PM   #13
lil_ri_redhead
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: arizona
Posts: 2
Default

it didn't come with one. all i got was the receiver, keyboard, mouse, software and the batteries.
Thank you for all your help though.
lil_ri_redhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 06:52 PM   #14
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

Ahh, interesting. Most USB keyboards I've had have included the adapter, but I suppose since this one runs through it's own receiver... it's a different story. If you have the packaging from another USB keyboard, it might have the adapter. Still not sure that will help though. Hope you can get this sorted out.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 02:08 PM   #15
Jon
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Hey everyone, I just bought a new keyboard and mouse it's a MS Wireless Laser Desktop 4000. I bought it saturday and hooked it up and found out the the volume buttons on it don't work. So i took it back to Wal-Mart ( fall apart ) and got the some one, It does the same thing.

I have Windows XP Home, I have uninstalled & reinstalled so many times and it still don't work, Ran spy bot, ad-aware and avast and still NO VOLUME buttons, i know that there and 4 other ways of turning up and down the volume but it's the case of i bought this for $70.00 and everything should work on it....

Is there anything else i can do be4 i have to take this one back??


Thanks,
Jon
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smartfish ErgoMotion Wireless Laser Mouse Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 10-15-2010 05:34 AM
Microsoft Wireless Entertainment Desktop 7000 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 2 01-18-2009 09:46 AM
Microsoft Wireless Entertainment Desktop 8000 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 12-25-2007 02:44 AM
Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 5000 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 11 08-21-2007 09:46 PM
Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 6000 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 7 12-11-2006 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.