Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2007, 09:44 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default Laplink PCmover

Are you making a move to a Vista machine in the near future? Want the ability to bring all of your documents, programs, games and settings with you? That's what PCmover promises to do well. We are here to see if their claims of a simple and quick transfer is true.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here. If you've used the program before and want to relay your experiences, feel free.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:55 PM   #2
UnderRAPS
Obliviot
 
UnderRAPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 26
Thumbs up

Thanks for the article. I work at Staples and just got that program on the shelves last week. Your review will help me sell the product. Hopefully, my customers will have more simple cases so that they have a better experience.

'Raps
UnderRAPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 02:35 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Glad the article is of some use! Yes, it should be fine for the normal consumer. I think the program will have a rougher time with those people who really like to tweak their PC's and have multiple partitions, or weird setups.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:08 PM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Question re PCMover

I just upgraded my old computer with Windows 2000 Pro. The new computer comes with both Vista and Windows XP since I chose XP to work with. I've considered going to my local Office Depot and picking up the PCMover software, but I've read both good and bad reviews as well. Yours has been the most comprehensive, though...and I thank you for that.

You said something about having to be in Windows Vista however, if I read that correctly. Do you know...do I have to run Vista in the new computer or can I transfer data from old Windows 2000 Pro to the new computer running Windows XP? I have my own home business and really can't afford to be without a computer for more than a day. Would I be better off just saving to CD and doing the old-fashioned way?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 06:25 PM   #5
Pierre Atmadjian (France)
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up An update with new version would be great

Hello,

many thanks for this review that I also found as one of the most comprehensive I read. With the one recent from Andrew Garcia from eWeek.com.

I think that most of the possible issues you notices have been addressed and fixed now. Especially for upgrading from a former Windows version to an new one on the same PC.

Well I will try software in a couple of weeks and I will revert. Hopefully I would be lucky in transferring domain account settings to the local administrator account on the new machine. That's my bigger concern.

Cheers from France and sorry for my quite poor English.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 02:07 PM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Thanks for the kind words, Pierre! It's been so long since I took a look at this (it's hard to believe it was at Vista's launch... feels like so long ago!), so I'd definitely like to give the newer version a try and see how it fares.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 03:02 PM   #7
krthuente
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default Problems with PC Mover

I purchased the most recent version of PC Mover in early July 2010. It is the simplest version for moving all the files on one computer to another. The first time I tried the transfer, it went okay but took more than 24 hours and I could not access one of the programs I need to have. I tried uninstalling and re-installing that program to no avail. It is UPS Worldship.

My husband and I use the computer for two home-based businesses which were busy until this past week. So, I had to wait until I could have a two-day block of time to try again. I used PC Mover yesterday and have even more problems with other software this time.

Before making the move yesterday, I installed the newest version of the UPS Worldship problem program on the old computer. I used a restore point to take the new computer back to where it was prior to the first attempt to move files (July). I also updated PC Mover on both computers.

FYI: the old computer has Windows XP Home and the new one has Windows XP Pro.

Please advise.
krthuente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 04:42 PM   #8
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

I am not familiar with that program at all, but it sounds like something could have corrupted the settings, and thus it fails to launch. You'd lose profile settings and the like, but it'd be worth a shot to remove or move the profile folder for the program. To find out where that is, just open up a folder and put this into the address bar and hit enter:

%APPDATA%

There should be a folder for UPS Worldship, and that could safely be removed. You could uninstall the program before doing this, but it might not matter. With that corrupt profile gone, you might be able to open it up again.

It makes little sense that across the same installs, a program would stop working, but it's not unheard of. It's even stranger given we're dealing with the same major version of Windows.

Good luck!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.