Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2006, 06:30 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default Tagan TG1100-U95 1100W Power Supply

There are a handful of 8800GTX certified power supplies, today we take a look at one that's been hit with a bit of controversy recently and see if there's more to it than certain people think there is.

You can read the full review right here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 10:55 AM   #2
liqnit
Coastermaker
 
liqnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 119
Default

Great looking case!!
But after reading the review i think it is the best feature there...
__________________
My Blog
liqnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 02:27 PM   #3
Tech-Daddy
Tech Monkey
 
Tech-Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Plano, Texas USA
Posts: 664
Default

So... if I am reading this correctly, you would hook up PCI-e 1 and 3 to one card, and 2 and 4 to another card?
Is that correct?

How do you know "which" connector is on "which" rail?
__________________
blingGreen | Lupine | BOSS:FX-57 | DSF (Dallas Stars Foundation) | Deuce | DST (Dallas Stars Tribute)
Currently working on : Sleeper
Tech-Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:43 PM   #4
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

I have ways of making zem speak...1 & 3 are on one rail and 2 & 4 are on another so they're cool to hook up together. Don't get me wrong, a 6 is still a good score but it needs things like complete documentation, normal sleeving and a single big, quiet fan to get it pushed up to an 8.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine

Last edited by madmat; 12-18-2006 at 07:46 PM.
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 05:21 AM   #5
pad6000
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default TG1100-U95 ripple

Hi. Just how bad was the ripple voltage with all four PCIe 12V combined? Did you get a measurement?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 07:50 AM   #6
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

It was about 80mV at full load with a strangely oscillating waveform. If you're considering combining rails on one I'd really advise against it.

The ripple on each rail at 20A per rail was a rather clean 40-50mV which is well under spec and there was no oscillation in the waveform either.

What exactly are you wanting to do? Run an 8800GTX SLI setup? If so just run PCI-e 1 & 3 to one card and 2 & 4 to the other and that'll keep everything on its own rail.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 12:34 PM   #7
pad6000
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for quick response!

Actually this is a non-PC application. Its to power a server blade which needs up to 80A. There are some single 12V rail PSUs, such as the Silverstone OP1000 and Power & Cooling 1KW-SR. I think I look at those.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 02:01 PM   #8
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Here is a question for Matt. We talked to Tagan at CES, and they showed us a similar model to this, except it had a switch on that back that could toggle between 5 separate +12v rails or 1 80a +12v rail.

Now generally, I thougt that there was no real such thing as "separate" rails, instead there is one +12v always, that just happens to split off into separate areas. If that's the case, then what good does this "switch" do?

I wish I could explain better, but I am just going by what he told me.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 07:55 PM   #9
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

Sounds like they've incorporated a switchable transformer.

Transformers change AC to DC by the expanding and collapsing magnetic fields passing through a coil of wire. The "movement" of these magnetic fields produce a current upon the wire. Transformers are the most energy efficient devices man created, with a power factor of ~95% or better. If you were to take a transformer with a 1:10 ratio, 120V AC - 12V DC, you maintain the same voltage, but the current available has increased. If you're on a 30 Amp breaker then available DC current would be 10 times that, or 300 Amps. In that specific psu application you talked about, the transformer must have a maximum amperage rating of 80 Amps.

You can then go back and regulate the amperage rating for the 12V a few different ways. The simplest method would be a set of resistors that reduce the output current. Someone's using their head and applying Ohm's Law to the output of a power supply. I = V/R , or Current (I) = Voltage (V) / Resistance (R). Some simple Algebra leads to: V = IR, and R = V/I.

Resistors in parallel reduce current output, but not voltage. So, I'll demonstrate with a couple figures I've compiled, starting with a 40 Amp rating. Input will always be 12 volts at 80 amps, and using resistors is the simplest/cheapest method.

Reduction by 40A still maintains a 40A output.
12v / 40A = .3 ohms : Output of 12v @ 40A
12v / 30A = .4 : Output of 12v @ 50A
12v / 20A = .6 : Output of 12v @ 60A
12v / 10A = 1.2 : Output of 12v @ 70
12v / 0A = 0 or a direct output from rectifier/cap 12v @ 80A

As you can see, by including a switch to choose between output resistance, you can vary the output current. This can also be done with a single potentiometer, or rheostat. Similar to the voltage control on a dc fan, it varies the resistance to the load.

"So why don't companies produce higher amp power supplies?"

Well, to support the higher amperage ratings, it would require larger, higher rated, components, and heavier gauge wire. These components make for a larger psu, as well as, increasing the price.

Now that I've thought about how that could work, I'm slightly surprised this hasn't been introduced earlier. Use a larger transformer, and allow switchable amp ratings. I've seen the same application in power amps and such through school, but never applied it when thinking about power supplies. Quite nice indeed.
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/

Last edited by Jakal; 01-18-2007 at 08:26 PM.
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:00 PM   #10
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

Most power supplies have one transformer that feeds out to the various rails via OCP (over current protection) per virtual rail, In the case of the 1100 I reviewed it has two transformers that fead two rails each which is why the ripple was so strange.

I'm guessing the switch turns the OCP on and off.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:34 AM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Thanks for the detailed explanation Jakal, that will require me to re-read when I'm not buzzed. Thanks also Matt, it makes more sense to me now. The Tagan rep was talking so fast, I didn't get to comprehend it that well, heh.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 07:35 AM   #12
TonyM16
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Hi I have a tagan 1100 watt . At first I also had my pciX cables connected to my 8800gtx sli like 1+2 and 3+4. I didn't notice anything strange, but ofcourse I have now changed it.

My question is if each rail has a max of 20amps will connecting two pciX cables on the same rail be any better than just connecting one? So if all I can get is 20amps on that rail, why do I need two cables? Will 20amps even be enough for one 8800gtx. It's more likely 16amps as no psu is 100% effecient. Why didn't they have one pciX cable on each of it's four rails. that makes more sense to me as then you can have more than 20amps going to each card.

I am very confused about this. Can someone explain all this to me please? Am I going to have enough amperage to have stable 8800gtx sli even if I overclock them? Is there anyway to use the Tagan so that I can get more thab 20amps on each card?

Thank you.

PS. What is this 25c thing all about? What will happen to my psu when it get to 50c? Will it crap out or something, or does it just mean that it will have alot less power at 50c, but how much less? Did you test that? What if I had a really good case that keeps things cool? Will i be able to stay below 50c then?

EDIT: I just quickly checke the spec of my 8800gtx and I have found that one of these bad boys needs a 450watt psu witha 30amp 12v current. SO for sli I would need 2x 450watt and 2x 30amps. That means I don't have enough power!!. My 12v rail is only 900watt and probably 750watt after the waste. My amps per rail is only 2x20amp or more like 16x2 after waste. What should I do, there is no psu out there tha even has 30amps per rail except the uber expensive PCP+C 1kw-sr or the Silverstoen Op1000. I can't get those where I am though. WHat do I do?

Last edited by TonyM16; 01-27-2007 at 07:46 AM.
TonyM16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 05:20 AM   #13
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

My god...calm down a bit. The ENTIRE SYSTEM requires a 450W PSU with 30A on the 12V rail. That's shared amongst the CPU, drives, fans, mobo, water pump if there is one and everything else plus the GPU so having 4-20A rails is more than enough. Take a Prozac and relax a bit. The 8800GTX uses at most 13A on DX9 and maybe, just possibly will require 18A on DX10 so quit panicking, you have more than enough power to run your system. You'll have 40A (20A X 2) shared amongst your 8800GTX SLI cards and another 40A for everything else. A $10,000 super duty home PC with dual dualcore CPU's and SLI 8800GTX's won't even touch that amount of power so don't freak out, you're well covered.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 07:21 AM   #14
TonyM16
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmat View Post
My god...calm down a bit. The ENTIRE SYSTEM requires a 450W PSU with 30A on the 12V rail. That's shared amongst the CPU, drives, fans, mobo, water pump if there is one and everything else plus the GPU so having 4-20A rails is more than enough. Take a Prozac and relax a bit. The 8800GTX uses at most 13A on DX9 and maybe, just possibly will require 18A on DX10 so quit panicking, you have more than enough power to run your system. You'll have 40A (20A X 2) shared amongst your 8800GTX SLI cards and another 40A for everything else. A $10,000 super duty home PC with dual dualcore CPU's and SLI 8800GTX's won't even touch that amount of power so don't freak out, you're well covered.
Yeah you're right, after rereading my post it was a bit OTT. Sorry about that. Thanks for clearing it all up though.

PS I think you mean Valium , not Prozac
TonyM16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 07:44 AM   #15
madmat
Soup Nazi
 
madmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: No soup for you!
Posts: 1,654
Default

Prozac is for anxiety attacks which it looked like you were having. Valium is too but it's a bit debilitating so I suggest Prozac over it

But yeah, you're fine with the Tagan, it's not a bad unit as long as you avoid cross connecting the 12V lines.
__________________

M4N82 Deluxe
Phenom II 940 Black Edition quad core @ 3.5Ghz
2x1 gig OCZ PC26400 Platinum, 2x1gig GSkill PC26400
EVGA GTX260
Buncha drives,
Some other stuff,
Even more stuff,
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside. --Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine
madmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Compatibility softblushcom General Hardware 4 11-14-2010 12:48 PM
Tagan Silver Power SP-1000W Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 1 06-28-2007 06:33 AM
2,000W Power Supply anyone? Rob Williams General Hardware 9 02-24-2007 11:26 AM
XG Duro 900 Power Supply Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 29 11-30-2006 09:40 AM
Power Supply Will Nave General Hardware 6 06-09-2005 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.