Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2006, 12:00 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,350
Default Logitech Chillstream Gamepad

One common problem that PC and console gamers alike experience, is sweaty hands. Yes, this can easily happen during an intense Moto GP or Need for Speed session. Logitech to the rescue with their latest gamepad, which includes a beefy 40mm fan to help you keep your cool during gameplay.

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 12:06 AM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Does it work with the 360?

Can you assign things to the buttons via some software portion?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 12:22 AM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,350
Default

This will not work with the 360 in any shape and form, strictly for the PC. As for the assigning, what kind of things are you looking to do? Macros? Copy/Paste? That type of thing?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 12:54 PM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can download the LGS (Logitech gaming software) from their website, and setup a controller profile with fps mapping. I haven't tried it yet, so I don't know how well it works with this controller. I'm going to try it later so I can use the controller on Star Wars Galaxies, so I'll let ya know.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 06:02 PM   #5
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

Oooh.. forgot about this thread. I haven't used one of these, but I have used a PS2 controller with a similar option. A fan circulated air to the fingers and palms through the grips. It was nice for those long course races in Gran Turismo.
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 03:01 PM   #6
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

How well will it work with RPGs (i.e. Oblivion, D&D Online: Stormreach, etc.) and is there a list of compatible games anywhere? Are the buttons customizable on this controller? There are so many keys used to navigate/play larger RPG games, so I would want many of the controller buttons to perform certain functions that the keys on the keyboard would normally preform. In short, will this be capable of replacing the PC keyboard while playing RPGs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 03:07 PM   #7
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I posted the previous post and forgot to mention I am running Windows Vista on a newer PC. I'm not sure if this info is relevant, but better safe than sorry.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 04:35 PM   #8
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

I honestly have no idea if you can map certain buttons. Also, the controller was designed to be used to it's fullest with Vista and while this is something that I intended to do after the review, it's something that i have not. Let me give it a go and I will let you know how it turns out.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 05:36 PM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Awesome. Thank you and I'll keep checking this thread to see how it turns out for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 04:55 AM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Great controller

But it is a bit noisy and it takes sometime to get used to the vibration of the fan. I recommend using a headphone with this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 07:14 PM   #11
madstork91
The One, The Only...
 
madstork91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 1,434
Default

http://forums.techgage.com/showthread.php?t=1955

You can map just about any button possible on anything compatible with logitechs wingman software (it is a bit out dated... But the controller should have info for it if it is logitech)

The reason I linked the above link is because with that cd that game with it I am sure it uses a set point type of interface. The only down side with that is that setting universal buttons that work in ANY game/program isn't possible in set point on every type of controller/interface. *Sigh*

Speaking from experience, the only down side to using a controller for RPG's is that you have to set teh mouse to the d-pad or joystick unless you constantly want to switch back and fourth with your right hand. Without some sort of menu selection in the game that puts the cursor on buttons, and without some sort of auto centering function for the pointer... Things get out of hand pretty fast.

BF2 etc is very compatible with a controller though especially for vehicle controls.

Greg:

1) I know logitech initially because of their Joysticks.

2) Um... wanna give us some info on the software package for this thing? Is it set point? Can you set it up with the wingman software? Will the set point setting apply universally?
__________________
..
madstork91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 09:42 PM   #12
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Bad Software

Whatever you do, don't lose the Disk that comes with it. The only way you can download the software to run it is through Microsoft, and it won't work. I've tried using regedit, and add hardware, and game controllers, pretty much every option in Control Panel, and I have tried all 7 of my USB ports. NOTHING WORKS. So whatever you do, don't lose the CD!

Post Script:
Oh, btw, if anyone knows how to fix my problem, I am running a Windows XP SP2 Hoem edition. My e-mail is [email protected]
Contact if you have info, that could help.

G'Luck
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 04:26 AM   #13
neels
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I don't understand your remark:
"The only way you can download the software to run it is through Microsoft..."

You really shouldn't be too quick to blame Logitech for your problem,
because I work in IT and have seen many cases where WINDOWS goes
haywire as far as detecting and "seeing" USB devices is concerned. For
example, if you then plug in any USB flashdrive, etc it would just
flatout ignore the device... the only way to usually fix that problem
is to reinstall Windows completely.

Sometimes it might also be a problem with the physical USB ports and
controller handling the ports. This could have been caused by a power
surge when you plugged in some USB peripheral (e.g. an external hard
drive or something).

Have you tried the Chillstream on another computer? That is normally
the best & easiest way to troubleshoot PC hardware.

All I'm saying is - this might *not* be Logitech's fault
neels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:40 PM   #14
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation what games?

i am planning to buy this gamepad, but im not sure, if it will work with modern fps games like mw2 and bfbc2. and i would like to get a reply which confirms the programmability of the buttons. thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ThinkGeek Announces 'iCade 8-Bitty' Retro Gamepad for iDevices Rob Williams Gaming 1 02-13-2012 04:15 PM
Looking for a good gamepad for PC. Shayx Gaming 5 07-04-2008 01:17 PM
PS3 Dualshock 3 Gamepad En Route... Finally! Rob Williams Gaming 0 04-03-2008 03:38 AM
Logitech G15... $62 Rob Williams Tech Deals 3 11-03-2007 09:58 AM
Xbox 360 gamepad on pc ujlien General Hardware 0 05-22-2006 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.