Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2006, 11:07 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default ASUS WL-500g Premium Router

Routers are often boring, but ASUS proves that doesn't have to be the case. The WL-500g is a very fast WiFi router that offers USB connectivity and even the ability to download while your computer is turned off!

You can read the full review here and discuss it here.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 11:14 AM   #2
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default device not found

Hi, When I start the Download master, it gives error message "device not found".
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 12:46 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default

Hmm. At that point, is your wireless network working at all? Make sure that you format the drive on your Windows PC prior to plugging it into the router, and even then make sure it's in tight. Don't format it if there's still stuff on it though.

I no longer have the router so I can't just hop on and see what's in the admin, but you may want to look through there and see if there is anything you need to set up. I do believe it took me a few minutes to set it up properly.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 03:25 PM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you for your quick reply. The Asus is working fine as a router (wired and wireless). My drive and my memory stick are in FAT format.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 09:34 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default

Did you install the software that came with the router, or just set it up manually? I recommend setting up the router -with- the included software, because it may require it.

I don't recall having a problem with mine at all... I wish I still had it on hand.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:44 AM   #6
Winnick
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default FTP server

I understand the Master download allows you to download from an FTP or Torrent, but is it also possible to setup an FTP server - so that people can upload things to me, without having to have my desktop running?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:53 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,349
Default

To be honest, I am not sure if that router supports FTP. I am quite sure the WL-500W and WL-700gE do. You might want to head over to the ASUS official forums, and check out the WL-500g forum to post the same question there.

If you do find a router that will support FTP, it will still be a little tricky setting it up. You might need to set up a DynDNS.org account to set up a domain that links directly to your routers/computers IP address. I've done this before, but don't recall the exact process. It took about an hour to figure out though.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS' P8Z77-V Premium Becomes First Intel-certified Thunderbolt Board Rob Williams Motherboards 2 05-26-2012 02:03 PM
ASUS P6X58D Premium Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 10 06-17-2010 03:58 PM
ASUS Releases X58-based P6X58D Premium Featuring USB & S-ATA 3.0 Rob Williams Motherboards 3 11-26-2009 12:35 PM
ASUS WL-500W SuperSpeed N Router Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 43 02-25-2009 01:33 PM
ASUS P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP @n Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 2 05-10-2008 08:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 PM.