Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2006, 12:45 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default Logitech G11 Gaming Keyboard

Hardcore gamer? Then you probably are on the lookout for any product that will help you tweak your skill further, and maybe gain an advantage over the competition. If the G15 proves too expensive, or you don't like the LED screen, this one may be up your alley.

Read the review, then discuss it! You know the drill
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 03:42 AM   #2
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

Dear Logitech,

Please release a new version with a LCD, and without the G keys.
Thank you.

Love,
Little Billy
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 04:03 AM   #3
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,086
Default

That would be aweomse. I think it will happen to. Too many people have asked for the same thing. The G keys aren't as awesome as they thought they would be.
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

Primary:
Intel i7-5960X | ASUS X99-Deluxe | 16GB Crucial DDR4 | Intel 730 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 256GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | 2 x EVGA 770 GTX Superclocked SLI | Corsair H110 Water Cooler
Corsair 750D | Windows 8.1 x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 5760x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i5 3570 | ASRock Pro4-M | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 250GB | QNAP NAS iSCSI Shared Storage
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 02:21 PM   #4
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default LG display

Off topic, but I think I fell in love with your monitor. What model is that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 04:41 PM   #5
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Pictures on the last page are REALLY fuzzy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 08:24 PM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Off topic, but I think I fell in love with your monitor. What model is that?
It's an LG 26LZ50... 26" LCD TV. I primarily use it as a computer monitor since I don't watch -that- much TV and it's great. However, it only does 1280*768. With a DVI cable it's crisp as heck though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Pictures on the last page are REALLY fuzzy.
Yeah sorry about that. I kind of like how they turned out in a artistic sort of way, but I don't have a tripod and I could not keep steady. Camera was using a 6s shutter speed also, and I have no sweet clue why.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 12:39 PM   #7
VENOM
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

I realy didn't like the display und I am facinated about the 'G'-keys.
So I think this is the keyboard I have been waiting for.
And I hope I'll work out to not hitting the wrong keys constantly.

I'll buy one, when it's available in Germany.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 04:55 PM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Very usefull review. Do you know if the macro keys are functional with any software?

For example is it possible to programm key G1 to perform the Alt+Shift+Ctrl+S keystroke (it is the 'save for web') in photoshop?

My question is if I may put it more generally, is the macros perceived by any software as regular key strokes by the user or is it a collaboration between the logitech software and the other one (ex Photoshop)?

Thanks in advance and keep up the good work
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:58 PM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey i got a question about the macrobuttons/function:

Can you record a macro that loops itself?

I mean..press the button once and the macro executes over and over and over again until i turn it off in some way?

Old thread, but please answer if you know
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 02:43 AM   #10
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

I'm sure you could have a start label and an if function...

start
Lbl 1
perform
if key F = 1 goto 2
if key F = 0 goto 1
lbl 2
stop

Something like that.. ?
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 08:36 AM   #11
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So the keyboard handles such expressions ? Or are you just guessing?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 12:37 PM   #12
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

That's a guess. The macro would only work by the expressions the game supports. I'm only assuming it's a game you're talking about. But yeah, I'm sure there's some way to macro a simple program to a key. Just have a label at the start and then some way to loop it back to that point.
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 04:09 PM   #13
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

For any advanced macros, I normally use AC Tool:
http://www.actool.net/

It uses a custom scripting language, but it's easy to follow. It was designed for Asheron's Call, but I've used it for far more than that.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 05:40 PM   #14
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I use AutoIt for my macros..and it works fine

But i still want to know if this Keyboard (g11) can make looped macros..
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 05:55 PM   #15
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,353
Default

Maybe Greg will know more about this, since he has the G15. I gave the G11 to my mom because I couldn't stand pushing the G keys instead of the CTRL/Shift when working on stuff ;-)

I will ping him and see if he knows.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 14 10-18-2012 02:23 PM
ROCCAT Kone[+] Gaming Mouse & Isku Gaming Keyboard Review Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 6 09-14-2012 10:14 PM
Logitech Announces G110 Gaming Keyboard Rob Williams General Hardware 5 10-23-2009 05:07 AM
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 10 08-01-2009 06:12 PM
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 6 06-27-2007 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 AM.